We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy room!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatch Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hatch Station to your Saves list
Hatch Station
177 S Main, Hatch, UT 84735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatch
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tagelswangen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy room!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent one night at Hatch Station in a very cozy room during low-peak season, the staff was very helpfull and customer cared. Veeery easy and fast checkout... An absolutely recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caseyville, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you are visiting Southern Utah's National Parks, Hatch Station is conveniently located on scenic U.S. Route 89 between Bryce Canyon and Zion N.P. It was a nice place to stop for the night. The room was basic, but was reasonably clean and affordable. The restaurant attached to the hotel lobby had very good food. No breakfast, but they offered a 20% discount for the diner that they owned a few blocks away. We had a nice breakfast before getting back on the road. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

If you're on your way to Bryce or any of the other scenic places in this part of UT, and are looking for a very inexpensive, clean, plain, no-frills motel to sleep for one or more nights, Hatch Station is the place. Besides, there's not a whole lot else in this neck of the woods.
We stayed in room #14 in mid-September, 2011. It's set back from Rte89 about a hundred feet, but the truck noise still comes in, and the double-bottoms run all night albeit at a slower pace than during the day.
You may have to look around to find Mike or one of his people when you check in; the desk isn't staffed until 4pm or so, and no one seems to be in a rush around here. Room #14 is very small; the queen bed fills the space, although there are a small fridge & microwave in the room - we would have traded both for another chair. Check-out is easy - just leave your key (attached to a ~6"-wide horseshoe it is) on the bed & get yourself on down the road.
Breakfast in the cafe about 1/4 mile away is wonderful - the aforementioned 20% discount helps, too. The cafe is open from 7a-2p; then it closes & the steakhouse opens at 2pm until mid-evening. Steakhouse food is also excellent, although slightly pricey. And both places are subject to the cook having run out of things before the next resupply run. C'mon, it's Hatch, UT; not Salt Lake...
if you looking for inexpensive, plain but good accomodations, try here. If you're looking for anything more than that, Hatch station will disappoint you. I'd give it 2.5 stars, slightly less than average and close to my accommodations threshold, if the bubbles let me give half-votes.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the highway as you can, which is not far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Rented not the motel but 2 cabins for only a few dollars more than a motel room and it was great. Rustic like cabins with all the conveniences. Very cool.

A short walk to the restaurant that is part of the hotel. Absolutely fantastic food and service. Plus in the morning, although breakfast is not included you get 20% off at the owners other restaurant 3 blocks down - and the food/service is fantastic there too.

Short distance to Zion, short distance to Bryce Canyon, short distance to Cedar City. The Hatch Station motel/cabins are in a great location and has great everything else too. Would I stay here again? Yes, I absolutely will make it my destination and will stay as long as my timetable will permit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My son and I stayed here while visiting National Parks. Ask for room #5, it has a floral sofa and coffee table and queen size bed. Very homey. Met the owner, spoke with the chef, friendly group. Hotel is an old one, but maintained - definitely not a chain hotel, but this is what gives it it's charm. Go into the restaurant if the office door is locked (they get completely booked) and sometime lock the office door.

Room Tip: Ask for room #5 it has a nice sofa and coffee table for relaxing, quilts on beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were there on a busy weekend...Pioneer Day...so the mgmt let us have the "big cabin" they don't normally rent out in order to keep the other guests in cabins next to one another, as they had requested. Knowing this cabin is not usually rented out, our only complaint was the smoke smell in the back bedroom. Not sure if it's a breakroom when not used, and therefore the smoke smell, but that was our only negative. Otherwise, it was a neat little place way out in the country. Staff on the phone were extremely kind and willing to work with us to make sure we had a place to stay. Appreciated that!!! Come prepared with snacks and food....only a couple little restaurants open a few hours a day in that small town.

Also, totally unrelated to the cabins, be careful on the roads in that area! In broad daylight we saw a deer bolt out of the woods and try to leap over a car on the highway. It missed....and did several somersaults in the air before falling to its death in front of our vehicle. Our kids were traumatized for hours. It was horrific. Obviously, this was no fault of anyone -- just a terrible accident. But keep watch as the deer have no fear of traffic, apparently...until it's too late.

Gorgeous area to visit!!! Nice, cool weather in summer. Do not miss Bryce Canyon....our favorite national park during our 7 week trek cross-country. And give Hatch Station a try!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all around
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

A simple, extremely clean roadside motel within easy reach of Zion and Bryce. This place is well-located if you're in the area for the parks, and the staff is nice and laid back. The owner recently bought it and gutted it, and he's in the midst of renovating, and he has a great cleaning person -- so the rooms are all fresh. Some have mini fridges; all have little TVs and working a/c and heat. The motel offers wifi, though rooms far from the office will have trouble getting a signal (I just walked over to get closer with my laptop). The small bathroom (just a shower stall, sink, and toilet) was spotless, with good water pressure and hot water. We lucked out and got one of the rooms off the main road, set back a bit by a field, so it wasn't noisy. I'd request one of these rooms if possible. There's a laundry room on property, which was super handy for us, as we'd been traveling. Across the street is a gas station/convenience store with some candy bars, snacks, drinks. There is an attached steak house to the motel, but by this time, Utah had caused us to overdose on steak so we just ate cereal in the room for the most part (this is not an area of the world that will thrill foodies). Another major bonus: The motel was dog-friendly, with no added fee. But keep in mind: There are no frills -- no flat screen, no super soft sheets, none of that. But for $50, I don't expect any of that. This place hit the spot. If we were in the area again, we'd stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatch Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatch Station

Address: 177 S Main, Hatch, UT 84735
Location: United States > Utah > Hatch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 guest rooms, including 2 family suites. Newly refurbished interiors. All rooms have Direct TV on LED TV's, FREE wi-fi access, pets okay(with deposit), all rooms non-smoking, air conditioning, heat. Public Laundromat and convenience store on premises.New Expresso and Coffee house to open this season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hatch Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatch Station Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatch Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.