We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... awful, bloody awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hanksville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanksville Inn
Save
You added Hanksville Inn to your Saves list
280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“... awful, bloody awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This dump really, really needs to be razed to the ground!

Heating didn't work, wifi didn't work, tv didn't work ... but apart from that, everything was crap.

Howver, the fridged worked ... BINGO, but ... rattled and hummed like hell and consequently got turned off promptly until my departure.

The owner, surely a distant relative of Basil Fawlty, well, er ... really should pursue another career! Yesterday!

He showed me where the antenna was located in his car park. I drove to it & still got no signal. He told me, "These laptops & their micky mouse wifi cards" or such like rubbish.

He got the tv working. Nothing like a bit of brute force eh! He had to re-tune the satellite box because "...those things keep going around the Earth!" Really! I suggested that manufacturers should be made aware of that.

The heating, well talk about Heath-Robinson. After he turned one knob [installed many years ago] to 'heat' & then turned a very, very sloppy dial [also installed eons ago] to 'max' & then cranked the stat up from his office eventually the heat arrived.

I was told, "You're not the first to have these little hiccups." Well mate ... I probably won't be the last.

The decor is terrible. No coordination whatsoever. Looks like it's been thrown together by a bloke with no idea!

The motel allows animals judging by the blonde dog hair on my carpet.

My bathroom, unlike other reviews wasn't too bad. It had just been repainted ... including the towel rail & other bathroom furniture! Bodge job or what! The shower was actually very efficient, however, this does not really warrant any extra stars but ... what a relief!
I did have visions of Norman Bate's hotel when I took my shower though.
The hot water in the wash basin took a little while to come through.

Why doesn't an individual have a stab and make a proper hotel in this town, or dare I say it, a Super 8, National 9 or Motel 6 or suchlike do it. There's money to be made here. Or ... are there just enough desperate & weary travellers to keep this type of outfit going?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    12
    15
See reviews for
10
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This run down motel charges top rates and offers little in return. A cinder block building, the rugs had deep ripples so couldn't really be cleaned, the in wall A/C unit was noisy and everything looked like it was 60 years old, which it probably is. You can use a high speed computer in the small check in area (where you can see/hear the owner living) and it is right across the street from the only real (and ok) restaurant within miles). It is directly across from a RV park. Less than a mile away is a real motel, Whispering Sands, which is standard middle type hotel accomodations, for the same price. However, it can fill up early and after that there are not many options in Hanksville in tourist season.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Unhelpful & unfriendly office staff. Dirty, smelly rooms (i.e. mold, possibly RAID but couldn't quite place it). Bathroom in need of extensive repair. Severe mold problem in wall of shower. Water turned off in middle of shower. Back portion of room sloped down noticibly such that one of the beds was not an option for sleeping w/o being leveled first. One group in our tour actually had toads inhabiting their room. Bathroom water leaks apparently create an environment conducive for amphibians just not humans. So if you happen to be part of a traveling "toad" circus this might be just the place for you. Otherwise head to the AAA-rated Whispering Sands motel down the road.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Travelling from west, arriving in Hanksville may be like arriving in paradise after 200 miles without towns and services. The small town offers just few choices for sleeping and this seems to be the best and the one open 7/7. Others are closed on Sundays! Rooms are clean while bathroom is very old with damaged walls. Washbasin is in the room. There are facilities like tv, microwave and fridge and a 10% discount for breakfast in the restaurant just across the street. In the reception it is possible to use internet for free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Or.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

To call this place a dump is a understatement. The room I stayed in smelled like mildew, the carpet was torn, worn and pulled up in places. The bathroom was disgusting, there was mold on the celing, around the windows and The tub had brown stains in it. The resturant across the street the owner recomended was just as bad. I orded chicken fried steak which was served with a nacho cheese type "gravy" very nasty. The staff were very loud and felt they needed to discuss all their personal issues in the dinning room in full view of the few customers who were unlucky enough to be there. If your'e passing through Hanksville, UT keep going and save your money. However; do checkout Goblin Valley State park.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Quite rundown & not desireable. Needs major makeover. Pool not full. Though owner was very friendly, we would not stay there again. Rooms dirty. Bathroom clean but in very poor repair

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

It was Thanksgiving day, it was nearing 5pm, and Hanksville was the largest town around; a population of 360. We saw a motel and a restaurant directly across the street, so we pulled in. The desk clerk was very hospitable and didn't even mind that we had 2 cats with us. After unpacking we walked across the street to the restaurant with a full parking lot, and discovered it closed! We asked the motel desk clerk if there were any other restaurants around, but unfortunately, since it was Thanksgiving, everything was closed. He said the Chevron station might still be open, so we got in the car to hurry over there when this 20-something female comes running over to us, arms waving, and yelling stop! She said her mom wants to make us some plates because they have plenty of food they had prepared. We couldn't believe the feast they brought us! Complete with pumpkin pie and carrot cake! We're guessing they are the motel owners.

The motel was old, but everything was clean and working properly. I would recommend this motel to anyone not needing fancy accommodations.

  • Liked — The proprietors
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanksville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanksville Inn

Address: 280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Hanksville Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanksville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.