We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience but management made it right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanksville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanksville Inn
280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hanksville
Spanish Fork, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience but management made it right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Where to begin... how about a few positive items? Staff was friendly. Hot water was hot. AC was cold... sort of, but noisy. 10% discount on food at the restaurant across the street. That's about it.

We arrived on a rainy night. We checked in and got a key... an actual metal key... not one of those plastic magnetic cards. Kind of cool and retro. Had a tasty dinner across the street. Then put our stuff in the room. Water was dripping from the ceiling in multiple locations... luckily none on the beds. One of the two beds had mouse droppings inside the sheets. We let management know about it and the bedding was promptly changed. Nothing could be done about the leaky roof though.

All things considered, we slept OK. The next morning at checkout we were given a full refund. So, yes, this isn't a 5-star property. It definitely needs some love and attention. But at least management made it right by giving the refund. And that is why I am giving two stars instead of only one.

Room Tip: We stayed in #17. Avoid it in a rain storm :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    12
    15
See reviews for
10
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were the mercy of the flooding in CO and chose to stop rather than back track and go 200 miles out of our way. With only 2 choices...and the other one with a NO Vacancy sign we were stuck. Our room was over priced from what we'd experienced in our 18 days on the road...but location and desperation forced us to stay. Management was friendly, the room was BIG, smelled like it was wet, the a/c worked...the bed was comphy. The whole place needs work..
Walked across the street to an expensive dinner...$2.95 for a glass of Pepsi and SLOW service.even with 10% discount it was overpriced.

Room Tip: At your own risk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

the rooms were very clean an comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Place is old but rooms have been updated. Outside area could be cleaned up of broken down machines,. but looks like an old movie set! The Steakhouse across street was great. Check out the hand painted tees on sale in motel office.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not the worst stay ever, but defiantly not a good or memorable one either....With 2 motels in remote Hanksville to choose from, only this one allows dogs...If we hadn't been so weary and road trip tired we would of kept driving...But the steak house across the street helped us decide to stop here overnight....

The rooms inside are just plain beat up...Poorly done patch jobs, and general maintenance neglect...It could be a lot better, even though the place is older......Very sad...The filled in old swimming pool has a large wooden deck being built over it....Maybe for shindig parties? The bathroom screen was totally shredded and flapping in the wind.....It was all kinda funny, if ya didn't laugh ya just might cry! At least the shower water was hot, the WiFi worked good, and the beds were pretty decent....We liked being able to walk across the street for dinner and breakfast the next morning...And all this for a grand total of $86.59!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way into the Maze District of Canyonlands. As you read the previous comments, remember that there is no other town around for miles, that this is a rather inhospitable place on the earth, and that it is the only game in town. Sure, it's not 5 star, but our future expedition into the desert of 7 days would be sleeping out in the rocks and dirt, so this was a grand place! The owner was nice and helpful, and gave us a discount at the local restaurant. This place is like stepping back in time to an old Route 66 movie location. I would have no problem at all staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think this is what is called basic accommodation! Shabby and run-down and a bit smelly the floor in our cabin had an alarming slope and there were very strange noises coming from the ceiling - it may have been the sun or it may have been critters! If there is nothing else available this will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we arrived fairly late at night but the reception was good and we found the rooms acceptable (clean and with basic amenities) but a bit too expensive for the 76 dollars incl tax that we paid. They offered well-functioning wifi and a friendly restaurant with good food was just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanksville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanksville Inn

Address: 280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hanksville
Also Known As:
Hanksville Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanksville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hanksville Inn to your Saves list