We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanksville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanksville Inn
Bookmark
You added Hanksville Inn to your Saves list
280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stuck...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were the mercy of the flooding in CO and chose to stop rather than back track and go 200 miles out of our way. With only 2 choices...and the other one with a NO Vacancy sign we were stuck. Our room was over priced from what we'd experienced in our 18 days on the road...but location and desperation forced us to stay. Management was friendly, the room was BIG, smelled like it was wet, the a/c worked...the bed was comphy. The whole place needs work..
Walked across the street to an expensive dinner...$2.95 for a glass of Pepsi and SLOW service.even with 10% discount it was overpriced.

Room Tip: At your own risk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    12
    15
See reviews for
10
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osceola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

the rooms were very clean an comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Place is old but rooms have been updated. Outside area could be cleaned up of broken down machines,. but looks like an old movie set! The Steakhouse across street was great. Check out the hand painted tees on sale in motel office.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not the worst stay ever, but defiantly not a good or memorable one either....With 2 motels in remote Hanksville to choose from, only this one allows dogs...If we hadn't been so weary and road trip tired we would of kept driving...But the steak house across the street helped us decide to stop here overnight....

The rooms inside are just plain beat up...Poorly done patch jobs, and general maintenance neglect...It could be a lot better, even though the place is older......Very sad...The filled in old swimming pool has a large wooden deck being built over it....Maybe for shindig parties? The bathroom screen was totally shredded and flapping in the wind.....It was all kinda funny, if ya didn't laugh ya just might cry! At least the shower water was hot, the WiFi worked good, and the beds were pretty decent....We liked being able to walk across the street for dinner and breakfast the next morning...And all this for a grand total of $86.59!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way into the Maze District of Canyonlands. As you read the previous comments, remember that there is no other town around for miles, that this is a rather inhospitable place on the earth, and that it is the only game in town. Sure, it's not 5 star, but our future expedition into the desert of 7 days would be sleeping out in the rocks and dirt, so this was a grand place! The owner was nice and helpful, and gave us a discount at the local restaurant. This place is like stepping back in time to an old Route 66 movie location. I would have no problem at all staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think this is what is called basic accommodation! Shabby and run-down and a bit smelly the floor in our cabin had an alarming slope and there were very strange noises coming from the ceiling - it may have been the sun or it may have been critters! If there is nothing else available this will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we arrived fairly late at night but the reception was good and we found the rooms acceptable (clean and with basic amenities) but a bit too expensive for the 76 dollars incl tax that we paid. They offered well-functioning wifi and a friendly restaurant with good food was just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Old and expensive motel lost in Utah. We ended there at night and were too tired to choose around in this small city. We were only two customers this night. We paid 80 bucks. And there were no coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanksville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanksville Inn

Address: 280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Hanksville Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanksville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.