We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few pluses, but mostly minuses” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanksville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanksville Inn
Save
You added Hanksville Inn to your Saves list
280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A few pluses, but mostly minuses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not the worst stay ever, but defiantly not a good or memorable one either....With 2 motels in remote Hanksville to choose from, only this one allows dogs...If we hadn't been so weary and road trip tired we would of kept driving...But the steak house across the street helped us decide to stop here overnight....

The rooms inside are just plain beat up...Poorly done patch jobs, and general maintenance neglect...It could be a lot better, even though the place is older......Very sad...The filled in old swimming pool has a large wooden deck being built over it....Maybe for shindig parties? The bathroom screen was totally shredded and flapping in the wind.....It was all kinda funny, if ya didn't laugh ya just might cry! At least the shower water was hot, the WiFi worked good, and the beds were pretty decent....We liked being able to walk across the street for dinner and breakfast the next morning...And all this for a grand total of $86.59!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    12
    15
See reviews for
10
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way into the Maze District of Canyonlands. As you read the previous comments, remember that there is no other town around for miles, that this is a rather inhospitable place on the earth, and that it is the only game in town. Sure, it's not 5 star, but our future expedition into the desert of 7 days would be sleeping out in the rocks and dirt, so this was a grand place! The owner was nice and helpful, and gave us a discount at the local restaurant. This place is like stepping back in time to an old Route 66 movie location. I would have no problem at all staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think this is what is called basic accommodation! Shabby and run-down and a bit smelly the floor in our cabin had an alarming slope and there were very strange noises coming from the ceiling - it may have been the sun or it may have been critters! If there is nothing else available this will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we arrived fairly late at night but the reception was good and we found the rooms acceptable (clean and with basic amenities) but a bit too expensive for the 76 dollars incl tax that we paid. They offered well-functioning wifi and a friendly restaurant with good food was just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Old and expensive motel lost in Utah. We ended there at night and were too tired to choose around in this small city. We were only two customers this night. We paid 80 bucks. And there were no coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

#1 Dump in the world!

1. Smell....horrible mildew stench. My son got allergic reaction to dust/mold. There are multiple mold spots on the ceiling.
2. Beds... luckily I read some of the other reviews and brought my sleeping bags. The beds haven't been changed from the previous stay. There WERE black hair on the pillow and sheets.
3. Fridge did not work, had to unplug it from the outlet to shut it up, it was making way too much loud noise.
4. Air conditioner...about an inch of dust on it, it only has two settings On and Off, nothing else worked and barely cooled the room. In the middle of the night the air conditioner started making awful scratch noise, woke us up and we couldn't sleep. None of us went bare feet while we stayed there.
5. As another reviewer stated, plants grew inside the room from the floor. The floor hasn't been vacuumed in ages. Mice traces everywhere. We put all our belongings up off the floor in fear of mice getting inside.
6. Fridge, tv, microwave, cable box, lights and clock all plugged in to a single cheap power strip....completely not to fire code.
7. I tried to open the window for some fresh air, there was about an inch of dirt and dust behind the nasty curtain.
8. Walls are paper thin, you can hear people snore from two rooms down.
9. Bathroom is full of mold and pretty gross. We haven't used a shower, I was afraid to pick up something nasty from it.
10. On top of everything, it cost $80+$10 for a pet (Memorial Day weekend)... I call it blackmail

It was the WORST motel experience my family has EVER been in.
We ended up leaving 2 AM (not on purpose) in the morning and driving home, cutting our family vacation short due to lack of sleep. There were no other motels available around. As one reviewer stated, it's better to sleep on the side of the road. It will be cheaper and cleaner.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

People who gave this motel a good review are either motel owners or have no clue what a normal motel room is.

PS: Wireless internet actually worked, but I connected to another wireless access point and not named "Hanksville Inn WiFi", so not sure if it's theirs or not.

Room Tip: None, run away fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Everything the other poor reviewers said is true. From the Michael Meyers poster to the mold and vines growing in the shower,our night from hell culminated with the sound of mice chewing on our baggie of trailmix on our nightstand. There was a mouse hole in the wall between our beds and the mouse convention was in our room! They even ate through my leather tank bag to get to my trailmix.
The owner did comp us the room for the night when I showed him my $70 chewed up tank bag. He said the year before they had a toad invasion and before that a snake invasion so I guess this all could have been worse.

Room Tip: Bring a good cat with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanksville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanksville Inn

Address: 280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Hanksville Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanksville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.