We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Green River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Green River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Green River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 E Main St, Green River, UT 84525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Green River
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had to make a quick change of plans for our Spring trip to Moab from Denver due to nasty weather in Vail. We had planned to tow our tear drop camper and take road bikes (on top of the SUV) to Moab for a 4 day trip of hiking and cycling. We decided to leave the tear drop and look for a hotel. All hotels were booked that was reasonably priced. So, we looked at a map and saw Green River, UT was only about 45 miles from the place we wanted to ride. I used trip advisor to locate a hotel in Grn River. The Holiday Inn Express was available so we booked it. We arrived not knowing what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean. The breakfast area was spic and span. The food was fair but plentiful. The staff very friendly and accommodating. Even a little outside place to grill (we brought our own travel grill). I would recommend this HI Express to anyone thinking of a trip to Moab or even as a stop over while en route to another destination. We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our alternative vacation plan. Also very quiet. We had a 1st floor room so we could hear occ the people above us but not to the sides. Would ask for a 2nd floor room when booking ahead. Thank you, HI Express of Green River, Utah!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    54
    19
    10
See reviews for
66
61
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Green River on a recent road trip and thought the Holiday Inn would be a safe choice. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly but everything else was a little beat up. The rooms looked good but the pillow cases and towels were all a gray-white color which turned me off. We took the kids for a swim and the pool chemicals must have been way off because you could barely breathe in there and it made my eyes burn immediately. Could be a nice hotel but it needs more attention.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Green River,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your trip to the pool. I would also like to let you know that the graying issue you saw on your pillowcases & towels is a hard water issue (maybe also the source of the odor in the pool area) something we are working diligently to solve.
I hope that the rest of your travels were safe & enjoyable, and I sincerely apologize for any discomfort with your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Holilday Inn Express Green River Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lots of National and State parks in the area and we choose the Green River location as it is just down the road from Moab where all of the parks are, and it was $50 cheaper a night! Not much in Green River as it is a very little town, was kind of nice after a busy day in the parks to go back to a very quiet location. We had everything we needed, pool, etc., and it was clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You Jim for staying with the Holiday Inn Express in Green River,
I am so glad you found your stay quiet & enjoyable (we do like to keep our rates affordable for folks who don't mind traveling a short distance from the parks).
Thank you for your review & we hope to see you on your next visit to the parks!!
Kindest Regards,
The Green River Holiday Inn Express Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I tend to stay at a lot of HIE hotels when I travel, so when I need to rest my head in a place I don't know I tend to lean on HIE hotels because they're pretty consistently good. This experience wasn't bad, but a little below the norm from HIE hotels.
The staff was friendly and helpful, which is always a good thing. The room was OK, but might need to clean the carpet and clean under the bed. The pool was colder than normal and had poor lighting, but make sure to wear something on your feet to and from because the hallway carpet needs a serious deep cleaning or replaced. The breakfast was standard HIE food, but the pancake maker was broken which reading other reviews seems to happen often.
In the end I might consider a different hotel if I go through Green River again. The staff was wonderful but the owner needs to invest some money into this HIE to get up to the HIE standard people come to expect, because currently it is not.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
First off, I'd like to thank you for staying with us in Green River. I'd also like to apologize for the hallway carpet. We are having the halls steam cleaned shortly and hope to be replacing carpet throughout by the end of fall. It genuinely helps when guests who care offer frank & honest feedback. We pride ourselves on customer service, and I am very happy that we met your expectations there. As a side-note, I'd like to let you know that we just received a brand new (operable) pancake maker.
Thank you again for staying with the Holiday Inn Express in Green River - we hope that next time you're passing through you'll stop in & give us another chance to meet your expectations,
Kindest Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Green River Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santaquin, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am really picky about cleanliness, and this hotel didn't deliver to my standards. There was dust in all of the carpet corners (I don't think it has ever been edged), the lamp was covered in a layer of dust and the bottom of the toilet looked like it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. It wasn't anything huge, just not super clean. The drain in the sink had a difficult time as well. It was a busy night and there was only one staff member checking people in, despite the fact that the hotel was completely full, so check in was slow. I requested a roll away and was pleasantly surprised to have it waiting for us in our room. Breakfast was fine, pretty standard for a cheaper hotel breakfast. The pool was small and there weren't very many chairs in the area. It was fine for a place to sleep and shower, but a bit over- priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mom of 4 Awesome Kids,
I want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Green River, UT. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay to your fullest. Being in the desert, with high winds, dry dusty air, & a ton of guests visting for the beauty of the ATV/Biking destinations around us, dust is one of our biggest hazards. I apologize that your room felt as though edging & dusting had been an item forgotten by cleaning staff. We are very appreciative of guests' posts, as it helps us learn & perform our jobs better - our primary concern is guest comfort; we have shared your comments as an entire staff, to help the whole team see the hotel as guests see the hotel. We do hope that next time you visit green river, you'll come & give us another try.
Kindest Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Green River Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First, I have never stayed at this hotel. I made two reservations online at this hotel and received confirmations. When our plans changed, I cancelled the reservations well before the 24 hour deadline. Imagine my surprise when my credit card showed charges for 3 nights (and 6 more pending!). I called the hotel directly to see what was up. I was informed the reservations were made on 'Commission Junction' and I would have to contact Commission Junction to have the charges reversed. I explained I had never heard of Commission Junction, and wondered how I could have made reservations through a company I had never heard of. I asked for their contact information, and the hotel said they did not know how to contact them, but suggested I do a google search. I still have not had the charges reversed so I will work through my credit card company, who has been much more responsive. But beware - clearly the staff is not interested in being helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear VancWash,
Again, I apologize for the errors made on your reservations. I really thought that it would be helpful if I forwarded the contact information for the reservations made that were in error from commission junction. I am very sorry that contacting them did not solve your billing issue, and wish to assure you that the hotel & holiday inn corporate is working diligently to figure out why so many reservations were made and why only certain reservations were cancelled.
Kindest Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Green River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Green River is a place to lay your head on your trip West-East, East-West. Not much of anything here. We made our reservations in the morning of the evening we arrived and by the time of our arrival they were fully booked. The check in staff, while very nice, not very professional. Room was large and adequate. Not sparkly clean but that just might be age. Didn't take advantage of the breakfast the next AM, however there was a long line of folks partaking. Our stay here cost more than other places (and we even had the military rate). Can't say I would highly recommend however if we find ourselves passing through this way again, would consider it. The pool was out of commission while there due to a leak in the fire sprinkler system in the ceiling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenRiver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Green River, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear MAM96,

Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Express in Green River. I do apologize that there was a leak in the pool room during your stay & do hope that you choose to stay with us again any time you're passing through Green River.

We hope you enjoyed safe travels throughout the rest of your trip,
Kindest Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Green River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Green River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Green River

Address: 1845 E Main St, Green River, UT 84525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Green River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Green River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Green River, Utah hotel offers 60 guest rooms and has all the amenities that make the brand a top pick plus an indoor pool and hot tub which form the perfect end to a day of travel. Excellent location with beautiful views of the Bookcliff mountains. Close proximity to dining, golf and the John Wesley Powell Museum. This hotel is centrally located to all of the spectacular scenery that Southeastern Utah is famous for. Hotel features include free local phone calls, high speed wireless internet, and a complimentary Express Start breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Green River, UT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Green River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Green River Hotel Green River
Holiday Inn Green River
Green River Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Green River Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Green River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.