We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Veracruzana

La Veracruzana
125 Main Street, Green River, UT 84525
(435) 564-3257
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Green River
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Was looking for somewhere to eat on the way to Moab and happened upon this little Mexican restaurant. The interior and exterior are dated and could use a little love but the food was good and the sauces were even better. It seems to be run by a small family who does all of the jobs. If you're passing through Green River and like Mexican, I believe this might be one of the better restaurants in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not going to win any awards, but really hit the spot after a long day in the canyons. Pollo a la plancha and chicken fajitas came with refried beans, rice, some lettuce and guacamole. Atmosphere is dated. Seemed like a fairly popular spot on a Saturday for dinner. Booth seats were ripped. A little love could make this place a lot better, but overall not a bad option in Green River.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of no where”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On the way back from California to Denver we had made hotel reservations in Green River. Even though Green River has an average selection of hotels to choose from the choices for restaurants is minimal. Though the outside of the building is not your normal bright and shiny place I was quite pleased with the service and food. It appears it is run by a nice little family and the hostess/waitress was very nice and efficient. I thought the food was good and plentiful as we had a beef dish, pork chops, and taco & enchilada. And they served beer with dinner which is a plus in Utah. Would have been nice to have a margarita but Utah liquors laws don't allow that. So if you ever have to go thru Green River on your way some where else :-) I would recommend you stop at La Veracruzana !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Authentic Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

While this little restaurant looked rather run down and in need of some well deserved attention, we were greeted by a happy, smiling and most efficient person who was not only the hostess, but the waitress. She was very prompt with our service, quite cheery & pleasant in describing the food we asked about. Food was brought to the table (chili relleno, tamale, carne asada, guacamole, chips, salsa, beans and rice), served very hot and the spice and flavor was just right! Especially good was the blistered jalapeno served as a side to my friend's dinner. It was too hot for him, but PERFECT for me.
I would recommend this little Mexican restaurant for not only the yummy authentic Mexican food, but the service. And, if more people come and visit, I bet they will then be able to bring some more modern furnishings.
Give it a try...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Although we were not spoilt by great restaurants during our raod trip, the dinner at the La Veracruzana was one of the worst experiences.

None of us was really satisfied. The food was almost tasteless and the service left plenty of room for improvement.

We won't return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veracruzana also viewed

 

Been to La Veracruzana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veracruzana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.