We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickleville Playhouse

Pickleville Playhouse
2049 South Bear Lake Boulevard, Garden City, UT 84028
(435) 946-2918
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a summer theater playhouse. I went with family last week ans enjoyed one of the shows. It is quite a unique place for such a small town, big summer tourism
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Skip the dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The dinner was so-so. Steaks were very over cooked. The staff was concerned there would not be enough baked beans for both dinner time slots. Reservations are required so one would think they could plan ahead to accommodate the crowd. We were given a very small portion of beans (not even half full of the very small styrofoam serving cup). We asked if we could get the other half of our bean serving. The server continued to look at the long forming line of guests waiting in line. They really did not want to give more beans. Meal was nothing to brag on. We plan to return, but NOT for the dinner. The show was excellent and well presented. Next time we will have a hamburger at one of the local Drive Ins and then go for the show. Do not miss the show when you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I were in town for a couple of nights with our children, ages 15-23. Although my youngest sons (ages 15 and 17) protested loudly that they did not want to see a play, we insisted. And we all (yes, even the two hard-to-please teenagers) absolutely loved the show (Juanito Bandito Rides Again). The show is never dull, is laugh-out-loud funny, and includes allusions to pop culture that will appeal to both young and old.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Just An Awesome Evening of Entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

For the past two years, my wife and I have had the memorable opportunity to attend a performance at the Pickleville Playhouse. The cast and their performance is simply awesome no matter what play you see. Just recently, we attended "Bandito Rides Again" and thoroughly enjoyed it. I don't know that we've laughed so hard for years while watching the performance. We attended this performance with another couple who felt like we did and wondered why these actors/actresses weren't appearing on Broadway. When in Bear Lake it's a must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am not someone who enjoys the theater. So, I wasn't expecting much when someone purchased tickets for us to go see "Bandito Rides Again". I was actually very entertained. All of the performers were very talented and the play was hilarious. I would definitely go again and purchase my own ticket. The also have an outdoor restaurant that you can eat at. We ate there after the play and it was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a rollicking good time. We saw Juanito Bandito Rides Again and it was so much fun. The play was an original by the director and it was full of such clever lines and hilarious hijinks. The cast and the music were outstanding. they are very talented and play off each other so well. We couldn't stop laughing. Get your tickets early because they are often sold out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickleville Playhouse also viewed

Garden City, UT

Been to Pickleville Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickleville Playhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.