We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too cold in winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Lake

Bear Lake
PO Box 184, Garden City, UT 84028
435-946-3343
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic lake stretching 20 miles along the Idaho border.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“too cold in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was just too cold in the winter. We drove around it and that was it. It was a nice drive and nice to see the old cabins but too cold and windy when we went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The town is only alive during the summer months, but it is a cute place to visit. There are many burger joints and shake shops. One of the best places is a cute little pizza shop that is the only place open in the winter. Their shakes are not the best, but the pizza is good. The beaches in Garden City are fun for the kids. Depending on the height of the water, there might be tide pools that the little ones can play with. The lake is usually pretty shallow, so you can walk around and play pretty far out before it drops off. The shake place at the main "T" is the best. It is under the huge Raspberry sign.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremonton, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We like the northwest beach area of the lake. It is perfect for little ones! We also love to go to the different hamburger shops and get the raspberry shakes too. If you are interested in camping, there is plenty of camping nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
““Horseback Riding at Beaver Creek Lodge in Logan Canyon, Utah””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On September 15th, my two adult children, two of their friends, my sister and her husband and myself all went for a 4 hour horseback ride through the Cache National Forest. The tour leaves from Beaver Creek Lodge near Beaver Mountain Ski Resort and Garden City, Utah. We had a great guide (Tanisha) and wonderful horses. When we arrived at the top of the mountain to overlook beautiful Bear Lake we were given lunches from Old Grist Mill. It was a delicious lunch. The trail ride is beautiful and our guide answered all of our questions. You can take shorter tours if you don't want to be on a horse for 4 hours...even the short tours are a beautiful trail ride. Our group had a blast and would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves the Mountain Scenery and Horses. You do not need to be a regular rider to ride the horses that they have. The lodge at Beaver Creek is beautiful, we did not stay there but we looked around and it looks like fun. They also rent ATV's and they rent Snowmobiles in the Winter. I highly recommend this activity if you are in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BEAR LAKE : THE CARIBBEAN OF THE ROCKIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The vast expanse of turquoise-blue natural freshwater lake is stretched over two states - Utah and Idaho. The approximate area of the lake, originally named The Black Bear Lake, is 280 sq km, length 29.5 km, width 11.4 km, average depth 94 ft and maximum depth 208 ft. Its surface elevation is 5924 ft. Limestone deposits suspended in the lake turn the color of the water into a unique turquoise-blue. The beautiful tourist destination has 3 recreation areas- Rendezvous Beach, Bear Lake Marina and East Beach. A legend runs that a serpent-like monster swims between Bear Lake and Loch Ness and its home is in the water caves on the east shore !!!
The serene lake is truly a peace haven for tourists.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Lake also viewed

 

Been to Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bear Lake to your Saves list