We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
586 East 300 South, P.O. Box 333, Escalante, UT 84726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Escalante B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Catherine was an amazing host, welcoming us when we arrived late after a long drive, she even let us prepare a salad dinner etc that we had brought with us. We ate this on the great deck watching the hummingbirds feed, perfect! The location was beautiful...
Bed and shower were great as were the other facilities, Hubbie loved he pool table!
Breakfast was well cooked, enormous and interesting, although there were no choices offered, so if you have any food allergies etc you should mention them the night before....

We would definitely recommend this place and Catherine's hospitality, we had some interesting chats about the local area etc too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint James City, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Owner/host, Catherine, was friendly and informative. Her B&B is casual and homey, not fancy, but there was a lot of attention to "the little things" which made our stay very comfortable. The hot breakfast she made us was wonderful! We enjoyed talking with her over breakfast and would definitely recommend her inn to others. Also - we ate dinner at the Circle D restaurant in Escalante (just a few minutes away) and had a great meal and great service for a reasonable price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I called from Catherine from California to make a reservation for 1 night for myself and four friends. We were coming to Escalante to do some backpacking and slot canyoneering. The Rainbow Country Inn provided us the perfect base. Catherine is a wonderful hostess, her breakfasts are outstanding, and her knowledge about the area was helpful. We came back in between our adventures and stayed another two nights in the warmth and comfort of Catherine's beautiful energy and great accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, NY
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed a night here in Feb. There were few other lodging choices off season, and the hostess here was very useful providing info about food and attractions. I thought she missed a real opportunity to provide us with dinner though. The ONLY meal choice was from the local gas station, she could have made some money by cooking for us. Regarding the price, out of every place we stayed on this trip, from Zion Lodge, to Mandalay BAy, this was by far our most expensive accomodation. But, we really didn't have much choice. I thought for what it was, it was pricey. But it was comfortable, with the nice bonus of us having a living room with tv, wood stove, and games all to ourselves. Breakfast was tasty, if a bit odd. Strawberry pancakes and scrambled eggs with lots of onion and pepper aren't my top choice. She did offer to cook plain scrambled eggs for my kids, and she was perfectly pleasant and accomodating. Honestly, if I had had more choice, I probably would have stayed elsewhere, only because I thought it lacked character. But if you aren't concerned about rustic charm, then you will be happy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsetdoddler
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here one night on route to Capitol Reef, I wish we had allowed longer. Catherine is an excellent host and as many others have said the breakfast are wonderful as are the views. We eat in one of the restaurant in Escalante I think it was called Cowboy Blue or something close to that. Good food and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here two nights with my three daughters. We occupied two rooms, one upstairs, one downstairs. Both rooms had their own private bath across the hall. Catherine is a wonderful hostess and provides good advice on places to visit. She also cooks a great breakfast, even catering to the finicky tastes of my ten-year old. There is a great common area downstairs for lounging, but I'll have to wait for the next trip to try it out - there is just too much to do and too much to see in this area. I would definitely return here again if staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at the Rainbow for a week and couldn't have picked a better place. Catherine is the hostess with the mostest. Her place is immaculate, her breakfasts superb and she knows all the best hiking trails in the area and can plan suitable hikes for everyone.
We picked Escalante as our destination since it's mid point between Bryce canyon and Capitol Reef National Park. We were a bit concerned that we would not be able to find good restaurants since it's a small village but to our surprise the 3 restaurants available were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast

Address: 586 East 300 South, P.O. Box 333, Escalante, UT 84726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B in a quiet comfortable setting. Four bedrooms with Private baths, delicious hearty food, gathering room with pool table, TV, hiking and touring info. A great way to end the day by relaxing on the porch with stunning views or soaking in the hot tub enjoying the peaceful surroundings. We are looking forward to having you stay with us.Catherine & Clark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Country Bed And Breakfast Escalante, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Country Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.