We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Portion Size, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospector Restaurant

Prospector Restaurant
45 N. 400 West, Escalante, UT 84726 (Formerly Ponderosa Restaurant)
435-826-4658
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Restaurants in Escalante
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Portion Size, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had breakfast here. The portions were amazing. If we knew before, we would have ordered only one entree and shared it. They have a friendly staff and clean interiors. Nice find :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staff opened early for our group-21 people every morning
Food was good
They made lunches for us-very good and reasonable
We used the banquet room for dinner and watched our video from the slot canyons

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Myself and my parents were staying at the Prospector Inn for 3 nights, and we ate dinner once and breakfast twice here. We had the chicken fried steak, patty melt, chicken with mushrooms and onions, pancakes, eggs/ham/toast, breakfast sandwich, french toast, and oatmeal. The servings were big, the prices were low, and the food was great. Service was excellent! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling through Escalante, especially in the off-season.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Kim & Ryan (the owners) worked with us to host a private party for our family reunion in 2010. They even made a special trip to Salt Lake to get all the ingredients. The price was right, and what a spread! The food and service were great. They catered to our large group's every need, and we were satisfactorily stuffed by the time we finished. The owners were very accommodating and easy to work with. Next time we're in Escalante, we'll go to the Prospector for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Breakfast on a budget- biggest virtue only place to eat at 7am-never had breakfast that served coffee- milk only-no half and half.
However we like to get going early, even 7 am is late for us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospector Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Prospector Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospector Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.