We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So on Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   280 W. Main St., Escalante, UT 84726   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Escalante B&B and Inns
Nevada
1 review
“So So on Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

Indeed, I agree with some of the previous reviewers.

The room was large and very clean. I lived without the towel bar next to the sink as they had a nice wooden table to place my toiletries.

I, too did not like the air conditioned/heating unit because it was loud and it made it feel like a motel room. And, the walls were on the thin side.

I also felt like I was an "inconvenient" the first day there. But, I only felt that way with the wife. The husband was more accomodating. And, the wife did "warm up" the second day.

Breakfast was just ok, too. Definitely had better.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We use B&B's all over the USA and naturally one gets good and bad. This one is worth comment. The rooms are good but the food is way below average for such a price compared to many, many other B&B's. You also get the impression that one is tolerated rather than welcomed. Eat up and get on your way.

Oh well a lesson has been learned and we will stay elsewhere next time we pass through Utah's brillant Landscape.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Food and management
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Booked a 1-night stay at this bed and breakfast after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. This was one of four b&b's we stayed in during a trip to Moab and environs. It was our least favorite. Yes, rooms are large and clean, but no towel bar by sink in bathroom, a very noisy air conditioner and little soundproofing between rooms. We could hear a normal conversation in the next room. Breakfast was okay, but not great (have never been served a half an unpeeled banana as a fruit portion at a $130+ a night b&b!) Also advertised wifi internet which was not available.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed there during our spring break trip around Utah. We stayed in a bunch of bed and breakfasts on that trip and this was one of many we enjoyed. Huge bed, great room and good breakfast. Tom and Linda run a tight ship and have tons of insightful knowledge when it comes to the local activities. If you like hiking and arent that claustrophobic, be sure to drive down the Hole-in-a-Rock road and hike Peek-a-boo and Spooky Gulch. Opportunities for enjoying the outdoors abound and I'd recommend staying at a truly refreshing and enjoyable place. All the rooms are very new and have been painted and have different themes (wind, fire, earth). Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOlympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

My husband and I spent two nights at the Grand Staircase Bed and Breakfast and it was not long enough. We stayed in the Sage Room which was furnished with high quality southwest style furnishings. The hand painted mural on one wall replicated a pictograph in Calf Creek canyon. Of course, we had to hike to the original site. Over breakfast, host Tom explained how to find it as well as many other local sites. He brought out a map of the area and highlighted various routes we could explore. His driving directions were accurate to the tenth of a mile and made exploring very easy and time efficient. After a long day hiking and exploring, the inn was a quiet and truly lovely experience. Everything was top quality from cleanliness to the great breakfasts Linda prepared. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

Wonderful NEW rooms. Rooms are in an outbuilding, which is brand new, one room is in main house. Beds are new (including King and Queen size), clean and comfortable. Baths are great. An entirely No Smoking facility. Very quiet location just off Main Street in Escalante. Breakfasts are superb. Across street from Outfitters and convenient to town and other restaurants. Proprietors Tom and Linda are very friendly, good conversations in the mornings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 280 W. Main St., Escalante, UT 84726
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.