We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escalante Outfitters - great food, fun, sleep, and adventure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse to your Saves list
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
310 W. Main St., P.O. Box 575, Escalante, UT 84726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
clemson, sc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Escalante Outfitters - great food, fun, sleep, and adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I would highly recommend Escalante Outfitters for eating, sleeping, shopping, advice, etc.... The food there is great as is the service. The employees are very knowledgeable of the local area and outdoor destinations, and are reliable for good advice. They have excellent goods for purchase, including maps, outdoor gear and clothing, food, and fishing gear. The best thing about the Outfitters, however, is that there is always a welcoming conversation taking place somewhere in the store...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
65
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
az
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Dana and Dennis are incredible hosts, and are an inspiration. Nate and Chris are an excellent resource for wandering hikes around the backcountry. My hubby is a HUGE espresso snob, and he still votes his Americano the best on our roadtrip. Overall, it is a blessing to know such sweet folk open their doors to the wandering guests. Thanks for everything!!! AnnaKate Moore and Joel Hickok Sedona, AZ

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Just had to pass on what a great experience my girlfriends and I had staying in the hip cabins at the Escalante Outfitters along Scenic Bywy 12 in breathtaking Southern Utah!
We slept like babies after daytime hikes and bikeing and fly fishing excursions.
Oh and...don't miss the cafe they have!
The food is killer yeah, but the best part is all the cool people you meet there!
We'll be back for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

For all you red-rock-slot-canyon-wide-open-space-lovers . . . imagine Moab in the 70's (I was there, and then) this is about as close to that as you're gonna find. Step out of one of the cabins, crawl out of your tent and into over 2 million acres of wildness.
I have passed through the Outfitters many, many times over the past several years and can truly say that there is no place else I'd stay in Escalante. The cabins are basic but more than enough, as are the campsites in the recently landscaped campground.
There is some amazing trout fishing in the area and if wettin' a line interests you, there is no finer guide in the area than Nate, one of the owners of the Outfitter's. Multi-day base-camp fishing trips can be arranged, or simply jump over the edge and head into one of the many side canyons. Rainbows, brownies, brookies . . . Nate can hook you up!
While the pizza and beer are certainly a great way to end a day in the canyons, I am partial to the breakfasts myself.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We love Escalante and all it has to offer and Escalante Outfitters is the center for all things great in town. Accomodations are clean and well maintained. And the restaurant is first class. The food quality exceeds anything you would expect in a small isolated town like this. As others have said, the pizza is excellent.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Love the cabins, the people are great! I met travelers from all round the world.
Great Pizza, Cold beer, the perfect oasis to chill out. Camp fires are great any time of year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Can't say much for the accomodations as I stayed here only once (and during Pioneer Days only to be awakened by cannon fire in the wee early hours of the morning); however, the pizza and microbrewery selection is great! It is our tradition to stop here before heading up to Boulder Mountain for some rustic camping and excellent trout fishing. Be sure to order the Polygamy Porter. That's my favorite!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse

Address: 310 W. Main St., P.O. Box 575, Escalante, UT 84726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escalante Outfitters's Bunkhouse is your outpost for adventures in southern Utah's canyon country and the Grand Staircase-Escalante. Clean, comfortable lodging with lots of ambiance in our handmade log-cabin bunkhouses or camp sites. Nightly campfires, picnic tables, charcoal grills, common bath/shower house. Attached outdoor gear & supply store with maps, books, gear, and our Esca-Latte cafe and pizza parlor feature great food, local microbrews & ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.