We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great management. Great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle D Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Circle D Motel
Save
You added Circle D Motel to your Saves list
475 W. Main St., Escalante, UT 84726   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Escalante
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay. Great management. Great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We came from Capitol Reef NP to stay for one night. We arrived here near 9pm. The front desk stayed open for us, was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and even helped us set up the fire pit when we went next door for late dinner.

Thanks!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    316
    118
    37
    20
See reviews for
171
320
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We did our drive of Scenic Rt 12 in two stages - Stage 1 - Red Canyon and Bryce Canyon - overnight stay in Escalante and then the rest of The Hogbacks to Torrey/Capital Reef on Day 2. The Circle D was the perfect half way stop. There many things to do in the area that we did not have time for, so a several day stay is on our agenda for "the next time".

We also ate at the Circle D Eatery for dinner - Fetucinni Alfredo and Blue Cheese Burgers were so good there were no leftovers - unusual for us.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a nice view of the mesas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The owner was so knowledgable and friendly and went out of his way to recommend the best hikes in Escalante based on what our interests were. There are room copies of guide books for the region. The rooms aren't fancy or exceptional but it's a great value and we felt very welcome there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent four nights at the Cottage, which is actually a small, cute house about 2 blocks from the main motel complex. There were just two of us, but the house sleeps six. Two bedrooms (one with a double bunk bed), living room (with futon), large kitchen, full bath. Big, fluffy towels. Not a whole lot on TV (just a few channels), but great WiFi connection and a DVD player makes up for that. The grocery store in town has a good selection of DVD's for rent. A laundromat is nearby at an RV park.

The Cottage is a remodeled house from the 1920's, tastefully furnished with antiques and cute kitschy items. The stove is intimidating at first, but then you see that they've supplied a microwave and toaster oven and 2-burner grill. The stove is just for show, the best antique in the place. There's a BBQ grill on the patio for guests' use.

To see the Cottage from the outside, you'd never guess how spacious it is inside. This is a housekeeping cottage, which means you don't have someone coming in every day to make the beds or change the towels.If you need anything, you have only to ask the Circle D manager (Robert) and he is ready and willing to help. We were delighted to find a stack of guidebooks and brochures to help with our exploration of the area. The "Easy Day Hikes" was the perfect reference for our needs.

Room Tip: We have no idea about the quality of the main motel, just the Cottage. It's a splurge, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rougemont,n.c.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We left Bryce Canyon heading for Canyonlands on Rt 12. First of all, Rt. 12 was a highlight of our vacation, stunning ! We found ourselves looking for a place to have lunch and came upon Circle D Eatery in Escalante, which is part ot the Cicle D Motel. Very, very clean, outstanding food, rest rooms where you could eat off the floor and, once again, the folks were very cordial.

Room Tip: Because we were on a schedule, we did not say at the Circle D Motel, but chose to drive on and wound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The owner/ caretaker is from the old school of friendliness/ helpfulness when it comes to information about hikes in the surrounds. Rooms are clean. The restaurant next door has fab food & there is a public laundry next door in the RV park, all walking distance. We enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The owners were very nice and helpful. The room was clean and recently updated. Huge walk in shower. We ate at the resturant which was excellent. Loved the books, maps and travel guides which were in the room. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circle D Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle D Motel

Address: 475 W. Main St., Escalante, UT 84726
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle "D Motel & Restaurant is centrally located in the heart of Escalante Grand Staircase, on Scenic Highway 12 between Capitol Reef National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Our Escalante motel is ideal for multi-day stays to experience Southern Utah's pristine wilderness. We have 22 affordable rooms where you can recuperate from your day of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fishing or off-road exploring the Escalante area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle d Hotel Escalante
Circle d Escalante
Circle D Motel Escalante, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle D Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.