We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escalante Petrified Forest State Park

Escalante Petrified Forest State Park
710 N. Reservoir Road, Escalante, UT 84726
801-538-7220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Escalante
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area was the home of the ancient Anazazi and Fremont Indians, and has a very dramatic and beautiful landscape.
Friant
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Small clean campground next to a small artificial lake. One of the best things to do is take the interpretive hike through the petrified forest. If you can handle it, be sure to take "Sleeping Rainbows" fork and hike down the steep hill. The petrified specimens there are much larger and more numerous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    17
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“do not bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The park is well kept-friendly rangers-just not much of a hike. There is little to see -both in area views and not much petrified wood certainly no forest. So many other free choices in Escalante. We were in town for 5 days-this was only thing not worth our time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great hike and lots of petrified wood. The best (and most strenuous) part was the Sleeping Rainbow loop. The main trail starts out steep and then levels off. It has some petrified wood but the really good stuff is on the Rainbow loop. We were amazed! Tons and tons of really big chunks and a really steep trail but worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Mostly peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This state park is a gem. Small. Nice spots (big enough for my fifth wheel). Some hook-ups. Immaculate restrooms (my kids loved that there were no spiders anywhere). Helpful hosts and rangers. Colors of the surrounding canyons reflected in the reservoir. My only complaint, and why I didn't rate it a 5, were the other campground guests. Across from me was a large party who felt that because they had several sites, they could run their generator till 10:30pm; let their dogs run loose; allow their children to run up and down the fragile hills; and sit around their campfire laughing and arguing until 11pm each nite. All this might be excused once. However, after the rangers, camp hosts, and other campers talked with them several times, their behavior was inexcusable. After reviewing the other reviews, I wonder if the one complaining about the ranger was the culprit in mine??? Anyway, IMO, the ranger should have kicked these people out after the first night of ignored requests. I will definitely be back, as I am relatively certain the behavior of the campers will not be repeated.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
2 reviews
“Great Location Clean facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay the spots are pretty close together and if you own an RV you better call to see where you can fit because the spots are small. The DNR guy who runs the place is a real D-Bag he has no personality and all he does is complain about your parking, noise, dogs, kids, and anything else he can think of. The camp hosts are great though very personable. Good location to reach all the hikes in Escalante.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escalante Petrified Forest State Park also viewed

 

Been to Escalante Petrified Forest State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escalante Petrified Forest State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.