We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great slot canyon fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peekaboo Gulch

Peekaboo Gulch
Escalante River, Escalante, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The gulch is most famous because of the last 100 meters, before the junction with Dry Fork of Coyote Gulch - here the ravine cuts deeper into the sandstone, with a series of interlinked potholes, extravagant swirls and fins of rock, and several arches; these different openings and the many corners and crevices account for the curious name of this canyon.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great slot canyon fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

While this is after a 25+ mile drive down a dirt road, it is well worth it. When we did it last March, the road was fine for any passenger car but would be better to have 4-W drive.

Peek-a-Boo, Spooky and Coyote Gulch are all great but we liked Peek-a-Boo the best.
It is not a long hike but it is moderately strenuous, particularly to get into the Peek-a-Boo slot at the bottom but it is incredible. if the moderate scrambling to get in at the bottom is too much for you, you can also go around to the left of the entrance and go in from the top. If you want to get the best photographs and have fewer people, would recommend going in the morning before the sun is too high.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo,California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sooo fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What an adventure! If you like slot canyons, you are in for a real treat..we went in November and we encountered no more than a handful of other hikers..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Slot Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the place right out of National Geographic or the Travel channel. The pictures you see online are what you will see here. We combined this with Spooky canyon too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“A little scary, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You have to drive 26 miles on a dirt road. The road is pretty rutted with a couple of ditches. It took us about an hour to get that far. The parking lot at the trail head is pretty clear and you'll see a trail head sign, but from there it is hard to distinguish the trail. You're basically going down into the canyon. When you get down there, go right. You'll see a canyon opening on the left, but Peekaboo is further up. It is an opening on the left, about 12 feet up. You have to climb up the wall using hand and foot holds. When we got inside we almost thought the hike was over because there was a large pool of muddy water. It didn't look like we'd all be able to get over it without getting our boots soaked (we were hiking in October and it was too cool to be walking around in wet boots/pants and we had a 15 and 12 year old with us). My husband managed to get over and found a large log on the other side that helped get us over the big puddle. From there it was a serious of tight passages, climbing up, down, pulling your way through, etc. It was just beautiful. Expect a few scrapes and some of the areas are really tight (gotta take the backpacks off or you'll stuck in those sections). We got the end and turned around and went back instead of going on to Spooky. Just as much fun on the way back. The hike out of the canyon was a little stressful, as we weren't really sure where the trail was. Just keep hiking up and we made it to a point where we could see the cars/trail head.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the most exciting hike i've done thus far. It is very different than other mountain hikes i had done in the past. Hiking in canyon country made me apprecioate nature even more. Getting to the hike is a little hard because of the drive on the dirt road, but it's very much worth it. I went about two weeks ago and there were thunderstorms every other day. We had to rush through both peekaboo and spooky because it was getting cloudy fast. We did the loop in two and a half hours, though we're not really in shape, and it was medium to hard for us. If this is your first time, you should go up peekabo first, then down spooky. Spooky is darkerr and narrower, with one steep drop. I wouldnt have been able to do it on my own, with out my hubby's help in some cases. Keep in mind that he's 200-210lbs, 5'8" and he barely made it through, with a few scratches on his back. Any bigger, and i don't think it would work. For those that hve one full day available, there is an option to do a round trip to another longer slot called Brimstone. You can go in for about 15 min and then it becomes impassible, about 6in wide. Another option for canyoneers is to do the whole slot top down with rope. This is what i would like to do when i go back. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekaboo Gulch also viewed

 

Been to Peekaboo Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peekaboo Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.