We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very adequate hotel with large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Staircase Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Staircase Inn to your Saves list
Grand Staircase Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“A very adequate hotel with large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here after travelling from the Bryce Canyon park. Cannonville is a very small town with not much infrastructure, but this three level hotel itself is more than adequate. It has a small grocery store and gas station (poorly lit at night) .

Very large rooms with TV, hair dryer, fridge and free internet. There is also a shared microwave in the hallway on each floor and a basket full of rags to use for cleaning, which most hotels in the region seemed to offer guests.

The free small breakfast consisted only of toast, jelly, coffee, tea, hot chocolate.

We traveled a few miles back to Tropic for dinner (Clarkes' restaurant-see separate review).

A very good, cheap option as to staying at the entrance or in Bryce Canyon park.

Room Tip: Request a room on the main floor if you have mobility concerns as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    142
    53
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
163
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cannonville is a very small town so you will not find 3 or 4 star hotels here. However, this family run establishment (a grocery store, restaurant and gas station are also included) is clean and ocnvenient. Our room was very large.

We used it for a day trip to Grosvenor Arch and Kodachrome State Park - these are both worth visiting. It could also be used for Bryce Canyon National Park. We wouldn't hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Trip Advisor previous reports look good'ish but we were dissapointed at the price for mediocre accommodation. Yes the rooms are large and they have two large beds but every time somebody shuts the main door to the corridor the whole place shakes. The only food served is at breakfast where you can get toast and coffee. The breakfast room??? is inside a store selling everything whilst the till also covers people buying gas and and not a pleasant place to eat. This could be improved. We did understand they had been very busy and if this is the case then they should re invest in the place, In our view look elsewhere and pay a little more.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in October as part of a tour round National Parks. Although a little distance away from Bryce Canyon it served as a good enough base. The accommodation is basic but functional - a big room, two ok beds, TV. There's a communal microwave in the corridor if you need it. The welcome we received was friendly and warm. We left early the next morning to catch the sunrise from Bryce Point so didn't get to sample the breakfast.

I wouldn't have been keen to stay here for very long, but for a one-night stop off it was fine. It was also by far the cheapest room we stayed in across our stay, and we felt it was good value.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijón,Asturias
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Grand Staircase Inn was our sixth hotel when we was driving around the coast west and we stayed a night, on eleventh of september of 2012 and our room was nº 102

We made this reservation on Grand Staircase Inn on their official website and we paid for the room 88 $ with complimentary breakfast (coffee, milk and some toasts), we had free internet in our room and the parking facilities was ok

Grand Staircase Inn is about 20 milles Bryce Canyon and it´s in the middle of nowhere, but I think that is the reason because it´s special place and it has a good atmosphere.

We arrived at eight o´clock in the evening and the check-in was quickly and we didn´t have any problems because one friendly woman was waiting for us, and she was very very friendly. I don´t know the name but thank you for your attencion and smiles all the time.

This hotel has a grocery and you can buy some foods and drinks (no beers because they don´t sell it over there) if you want to buy some beers you must go to campground five minutes away or in the next town.

Our room Nº 102 was very big, the furnitures was good, and the carpet looked very clean and , the room had one king bed, frigde, and tv (but not lcd tv). The room had air conditioning as well and it works properly.

The bathroom is big and we had enough amenities and fresh towels, the bathroom had a shower and the shower worked properly, also this bathroom is ready for disability people.


Finally, When I made this reservation the Grand Staircase Inn sent me this e-mail:

"The staff at Grand Staircase Inn is excited to have you come and stay with us. We are confident your stay will be a memorable one"

And it is true, They got it 100%. I recomend this hotel and this place because it was amazing place and great hotel

PS: If you need some gasoline for your car you can refill your car over there because there are two pumps close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very friendly people run this hotel. It is a bit of a drive from Bryce but on interesting roads. Breakfast of toast and coffee are part of the deal. Don't miss highway UT12, a sensational drive. I was impressed by the heating & cooling system running off a series of underground pipes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We are a bit biased as the owners were just incredibly nice.

We stayed an overnight in a 'lovers' room' and it was just great. We were travelling from the Canyonlands NP towards Bryce Canyon and this was our stopover for the night. We got there pretty late (8:30pm) and there is literally nothing nearby as in restaurants or bars. The owners quickly offered to make us a fantastic pepperoni pizza that literally saved our lives as we were travelling the whole day without proper food.

The room was quite ok, with a jacuzzi that we did not use at the end. Bed was comfy, internet was quick enough, and the stars are just blazing on the clear sky.

We got nice recommendations from the owners and would definitely return if we are in the area once again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Staircase Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.