We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, adequate room in a very small town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Staircase Inn

Save Saved
You added Grand Staircase Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cannonville
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Large, adequate room in a very small town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cannonville is a very small town so you will not find 3 or 4 star hotels here. However, this family run establishment (a grocery store, restaurant and gas station are also included) is clean and ocnvenient. Our room was very large.

We used it for a day trip to Grosvenor Arch and Kodachrome State Park - these are both worth visiting. It could also be used for Bryce Canyon National Park. We wouldn't hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    90
    40
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
106
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Trip Advisor previous reports look good'ish but we were dissapointed at the price for mediocre accommodation. Yes the rooms are large and they have two large beds but every time somebody shuts the main door to the corridor the whole place shakes. The only food served is at breakfast where you can get toast and coffee. The breakfast room??? is inside a store selling everything whilst the till also covers people buying gas and and not a pleasant place to eat. This could be improved. We did understand they had been very busy and if this is the case then they should re invest in the place, In our view look elsewhere and pay a little more.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in October as part of a tour round National Parks. Although a little distance away from Bryce Canyon it served as a good enough base. The accommodation is basic but functional - a big room, two ok beds, TV. There's a communal microwave in the corridor if you need it. The welcome we received was friendly and warm. We left early the next morning to catch the sunrise from Bryce Point so didn't get to sample the breakfast.

I wouldn't have been keen to stay here for very long, but for a one-night stop off it was fine. It was also by far the cheapest room we stayed in across our stay, and we felt it was good value.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijón,Asturias
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Grand Staircase Inn was our sixth hotel when we was driving around the coast west and we stayed a night, on eleventh of september of 2012 and our room was nº 102

We made this reservation on Grand Staircase Inn on their official website and we paid for the room 88 $ with complimentary breakfast (coffee, milk and some toasts), we had free internet in our room and the parking facilities was ok

Grand Staircase Inn is about 20 milles Bryce Canyon and it´s in the middle of nowhere, but I think that is the reason because it´s special place and it has a good atmosphere.

We arrived at eight o´clock in the evening and the check-in was quickly and we didn´t have any problems because one friendly woman was waiting for us, and she was very very friendly. I don´t know the name but thank you for your attencion and smiles all the time.

This hotel has a grocery and you can buy some foods and drinks (no beers because they don´t sell it over there) if you want to buy some beers you must go to campground five minutes away or in the next town.

Our room Nº 102 was very big, the furnitures was good, and the carpet looked very clean and , the room had one king bed, frigde, and tv (but not lcd tv). The room had air conditioning as well and it works properly.

The bathroom is big and we had enough amenities and fresh towels, the bathroom had a shower and the shower worked properly, also this bathroom is ready for disability people.


Finally, When I made this reservation the Grand Staircase Inn sent me this e-mail:

"The staff at Grand Staircase Inn is excited to have you come and stay with us. We are confident your stay will be a memorable one"

And it is true, They got it 100%. I recomend this hotel and this place because it was amazing place and great hotel

PS: If you need some gasoline for your car you can refill your car over there because there are two pumps close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very friendly people run this hotel. It is a bit of a drive from Bryce but on interesting roads. Breakfast of toast and coffee are part of the deal. Don't miss highway UT12, a sensational drive. I was impressed by the heating & cooling system running off a series of underground pipes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We are a bit biased as the owners were just incredibly nice.

We stayed an overnight in a 'lovers' room' and it was just great. We were travelling from the Canyonlands NP towards Bryce Canyon and this was our stopover for the night. We got there pretty late (8:30pm) and there is literally nothing nearby as in restaurants or bars. The owners quickly offered to make us a fantastic pepperoni pizza that literally saved our lives as we were travelling the whole day without proper food.

The room was quite ok, with a jacuzzi that we did not use at the end. Bed was comfy, internet was quick enough, and the stars are just blazing on the clear sky.

We got nice recommendations from the owners and would definitely return if we are in the area once again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

100 miles from Capitol Reef on Magnificent U 12, at the corner of Kodachrome and Bryce, and Red Canyon. 4 Large Fluffy Towels, 2 King Beds amazing engineering in cooling and heating out here in the middle of one big beautiful away from it all place. Hiking. This is trailhead into base of Peek-a-Boo in Bryce, Mossy Cave, Willis Creek, and 35 miles up U12, Hole in the Rock Road. This is not a last resort stop. This is a spend several days and return often place. If you want a Holiday Inn, stay on the Interstates.

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs. One down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Hotel
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Staircase Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.