We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Staircase Inn

Save Saved
You added Grand Staircase Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Southampton, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Basic, but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in October as part of a tour round National Parks. Although a little distance away from Bryce Canyon it served as a good enough base. The accommodation is basic but functional - a big room, two ok beds, TV. There's a communal microwave in the corridor if you need it. The welcome we received was friendly and warm. We left early the next morning to catch the sunrise from Bryce Point so didn't get to sample the breakfast.

I wouldn't have been keen to stay here for very long, but for a one-night stop off it was fine. It was also by far the cheapest room we stayed in across our stay, and we felt it was good value.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    125
    49
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
148
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gijón,Asturias
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Grand Staircase Inn was our sixth hotel when we was driving around the coast west and we stayed a night, on eleventh of september of 2012 and our room was nº 102

We made this reservation on Grand Staircase Inn on their official website and we paid for the room 88 $ with complimentary breakfast (coffee, milk and some toasts), we had free internet in our room and the parking facilities was ok

Grand Staircase Inn is about 20 milles Bryce Canyon and it´s in the middle of nowhere, but I think that is the reason because it´s special place and it has a good atmosphere.

We arrived at eight o´clock in the evening and the check-in was quickly and we didn´t have any problems because one friendly woman was waiting for us, and she was very very friendly. I don´t know the name but thank you for your attencion and smiles all the time.

This hotel has a grocery and you can buy some foods and drinks (no beers because they don´t sell it over there) if you want to buy some beers you must go to campground five minutes away or in the next town.

Our room Nº 102 was very big, the furnitures was good, and the carpet looked very clean and , the room had one king bed, frigde, and tv (but not lcd tv). The room had air conditioning as well and it works properly.

The bathroom is big and we had enough amenities and fresh towels, the bathroom had a shower and the shower worked properly, also this bathroom is ready for disability people.


Finally, When I made this reservation the Grand Staircase Inn sent me this e-mail:

"The staff at Grand Staircase Inn is excited to have you come and stay with us. We are confident your stay will be a memorable one"

And it is true, They got it 100%. I recomend this hotel and this place because it was amazing place and great hotel

PS: If you need some gasoline for your car you can refill your car over there because there are two pumps close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very friendly people run this hotel. It is a bit of a drive from Bryce but on interesting roads. Breakfast of toast and coffee are part of the deal. Don't miss highway UT12, a sensational drive. I was impressed by the heating & cooling system running off a series of underground pipes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We are a bit biased as the owners were just incredibly nice.

We stayed an overnight in a 'lovers' room' and it was just great. We were travelling from the Canyonlands NP towards Bryce Canyon and this was our stopover for the night. We got there pretty late (8:30pm) and there is literally nothing nearby as in restaurants or bars. The owners quickly offered to make us a fantastic pepperoni pizza that literally saved our lives as we were travelling the whole day without proper food.

The room was quite ok, with a jacuzzi that we did not use at the end. Bed was comfy, internet was quick enough, and the stars are just blazing on the clear sky.

We got nice recommendations from the owners and would definitely return if we are in the area once again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

100 miles from Capitol Reef on Magnificent U 12, at the corner of Kodachrome and Bryce, and Red Canyon. 4 Large Fluffy Towels, 2 King Beds amazing engineering in cooling and heating out here in the middle of one big beautiful away from it all place. Hiking. This is trailhead into base of Peek-a-Boo in Bryce, Mossy Cave, Willis Creek, and 35 miles up U12, Hole in the Rock Road. This is not a last resort stop. This is a spend several days and return often place. If you want a Holiday Inn, stay on the Interstates.

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs. One down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The pictures on the hotel web site are real but misleading. See the photos on this site. The room we stayed in was large but devoid of anything modern or stylish. To be fair ,the bathroom had been remodeled and the room was clean, but everything else was substandard. The furniture looked like rejected items from Goodwill. An old faux suede recliner, a small chest of drawers and some odd looking steel frame love seat looking contraption that looked like it was new in the 50's sitting in front of a headboard bolted to the wall (for a bed that used to be there). The "closet" consists of a steel bar under the wooden TV shelf that supports a vintage 18" tube type TV. The view out the single window is of a dumpster and large Sinclair sign ( the motel is also a gas station). Entry is via an industrial looking outdoor stair well surrounded by bags of rock salt, ladders, buckets, and other items. The entry door on the second floor has two large holes bored into it for a door handle and lock, but instead a panic bar is bolted over top of the holes. In the large hallway outside the rooms is a table with a small microwave oven next to a basket of rags. Surprisingly, I did see an old lady in her house coat out in the hallway heating up something. Very strange. Someone mentioned creepy. I'd say this fits. There are few places to stay in this area outside Bryce and this assures steady business for pretty much any motel. No competition means little incentive to fix up and clean up. This place is at the end of the road in more ways than one. It is OK if you can find nothing else, but manage your expectations or you will be disappointed when you see it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The reviews make this hotel sound like it's something really special. Actually, we found it to be just average...and that's being generous. Out in the middle of nowhere, 11 miles from Bryce Canyon, not even scenic in its immediate area. The room was large, but felt awkward with its very high ceiling, a huge bulky recliner that I was afraid to sit in, a strange looking chest of drawers with one of the pulls broken, almost no space to hang clothes, and it was very poorly lit. No lamp or bedside table at all on the wall side of the bed. One microwave out in the cavernous hallway for everyone to use. It just didn't feel comfortable to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Staircase Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.