We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fosters Family Steakhouse

Fosters Family Steakhouse
1150 Highway 12, Bryce, UT 84764
800.372.4750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bryce
Restaurant details
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place was just OK. Nothing special. One of only about 4 restaurants in the area. Service was just ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Have a school psychologist serve your meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While visiting Utah and AZ national desert monuments we stayed at Ruby's Inn with what seemed like crowds of thousands, so we drove a few miles down the road each morning to Fosters Family Steakhouse for breakfast. No wait, no worries, service was great and food was delicious. Booths line the window wall with some tables in the center. The atmosphere was very casual. It was relaxing to plan our day and listen to the cook humming to country music overhead while we watched chipmunks gather food outside our window. We had a chance to compliment the efficient waitress. She thanked us but explained she was only there in the summer and didn't want to give up her other job....as a school psychologist.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go for the Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had very good meal with the kids here - burgers of course. Very friendly and family oriented service. It's a diner so not except a large choice menu but do leave a space for the pies as desert.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“You gotta eat, why not here?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Out in that area, you don't have many choices. Food here was pretty good. Service a slower than most family restaurants but that may just be the pace for the area.
One odd and uncomfortable thing here was the bathroom line. I can't believe I'm commenting about this. There is only one toilet per sex so a line formed to one side of the cashier. 3 times I saw people cut in line (enter as the previous user was leaving) before the next person in line could get to the door. Twice, the next person in line told the cutter that there was a line and all three times, I didn't see the cutter leave. I think the cashier witnessing this should have stepped in. I don't know if they were tourist or locals but I've never seen such a collection or rude people.
I just wish my table wasn't so near the front of the restaurant so I wouldn't have to witness this while waiting for my food. Maybe watching this drama and waiting to see if a fight would break out is what made the service seem so slow.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Would Return! And would get more pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

After a morning of hiking at Bryce Canyon the family wanted to eat more than a snack. Between us we had a Deluxe Burger, Chicken Burger, Club Sandwich and a Reuben off the lunch menu. While waiting the kids enjoyed reading to us from silly books at the table. Each of us really liked our meal. One person decided to order the Fosters Berry Pie. The waitress warned us how good it was so of course we all had to take a bite. Then we kicked ourselves for not all getting dessert. The waitress was friendly, food was good, and bathrooms were clean. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fosters Family Steakhouse also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Fosters Family Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosters Family Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.