We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Better Than Ruby's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fosters Family Steakhouse

Fosters Family Steakhouse
1150 Highway 12, Bryce, UT 84764
800.372.4750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bryce
Restaurant details
Chamberlain, South Dakota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Better Than Ruby's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food was very good and price was reasonable. Better yet, there was no crowd. While everyone else was at the Bryce Canyon tourist traps, we had a good meal and no long lines and crowds. This place is by far the best kept secret of Bryce Canyon. A++++++++++

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    29
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not much to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The only thing I could find on the menu that appealed to me at lunchtime was the steak stir-fry. It was a nice little sirloin, grilled and sliced and laid over a bed of fresh veggies. It could be a very good dish, unfortunately because both the steak and the veggies were cooked to death, it was only average. The fried rice was too much too. Simplify and improve this dish and I WOULD have raved about it! Better than Ruby's!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food is Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ordinary food. Easy dining. Not fancy. Packed up a large order for us to take out and remembered everything, including utensils!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stop on way into Bryce Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This family-run restaurant serves a good breakfast and servers are very pleasant. They brag about their pies, which looked excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place will do.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the connected motel for two nights, so we had a party of nine eat here ate a few times. It is simple, with great staff. The salad bar won't win awards but the other food was good, and the staff made you feel welcome. If ordering wine, you may want to inquire if they have enough on hand for your needs. Again we had a party of nine, and the restaurant had on display Yellow Tail Cab from Australia. When we ordered our second bottle, we were informed that they were out but world "refill" our original bottle. The second wine was of lower quality and I inquired about it origin. The friendly waitress would not answer my question and said the wine was free. I paid her for the wine and would not accept her apologies. She did a fantastic job and I would request her again. She did her best with the resources given her.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fosters Family Steakhouse also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Fosters Family Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosters Family Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.