We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd little motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel
1150 Highway 12, Bryce, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
south east wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Odd little motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed only one night. Happy about that. A little scarey when you first arrive. Rooms small and furnished with throw away stuff. Shelving home made. In spite of all that it was clean and we survived ok. Luckily the people next door were quiet or it would have been a whole different story. The restaurant actually was quiet good and very modestly priced, so we were happy with that. There are lots better places around Bryce to stay, but this is at least cheaper for the area.

Room Tip: Try for an end room so you don't have someone on both sides of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    17
    26
    37
See reviews for
22
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here on way to Bryce Canyon because it was the cheapest place around. I was arriving late and leaving early so I picked this place. Room was clean but was very small. Walls were very thin and you could hear people talking in next room. People were very quiet when I was there and I had no trouble sleeping. Shower was strange since it had no shower curtain so when showering water went all over bathroom floor. The restaurant attached to the place wasn't bad. It was diner like and the food was quite good and reasonable. If you are going to be any longer than I was, I would recommend looking for a more expensive place. Location is good, it is only 3 miles from Bryce entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

How about this;
Staff was surly. Even at the bakery.
Beds were swayboards.
No toilet paper.
I had to fix the blinds.
I had to fix the door lock.
The bathroom was filhty.
Floors were filthy.
Outside was trashy.
No lighting in room.
This place should have closed up in the 60's.
Drive on, no matter how far to another place.

Room Tip: Go down the road. Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having traveled out west a few times now, I am aware that "motels" do not offer what you would typically get in a hotel. This Motel was at the lowest end of anything I could have imagined.
First room we were given had a small frig and microwave. No remote control. The air conditioner had no guts in it, so just threw out little air from the fan only. We went back to the greasy restaurant where the office is located, and they gave us a second room. This room was worse than the first. This one had a TV that had to be at least 25 years old. Of course no remote control. The window would not close, leaving a gap of about 3 inches , so could not lock the window. There was a huge hole in the screen. Needless to say I did not feel very secure in the room. Room was so dark inside you could not really see if it was clean. It reeked of Febreeze I and had a hard time even breathing in room and out in hall also. The door was not locked very tight and anyone could have just pushed the door open.
We told the hotel management that the room was not acceptable and that we would not be staying there.They assured us that the charge would be taken off our card, but as of today it is still on there. It has been 10 days. Stay away from this Motel, You will leave this place feeling dirty and afraid for your life. Just ruined out whole day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stay in this motel when we were visiting the Bryce canyon. We chose this motel since the motels in town are full. When I book the reservation, they charged me some money for deposit and said this amount of money will be deducted from the total amount of money when I check in. But those cheaters they didn't, of course. I didn't notice that when we were checking in, because everybody was tired after a full-day-driving. So they charge me as same amount as deposit twice. I found that issue a weak later, while calculating the final cost of the trip. Then I called them and told them the mistake they made. However, they just said that they don't understand me, and hand up the phone, right away. I tried to call back, but never went through, again. I write them a E-mail and attached my bank account details to prove it. And them never reply. I will never, ever, be in this motel, again! It makes me sick!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studio city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Fosters for 3 nights. Pros: Close to the National Park - just 5 minutes from the park entrance, there is a restaurant and a grocery/bakery, the room had 2 beds with clean sheets and a TV, rate was $75/night, hot water in the shower. Cons: the room was dark, poor lighting, felt like any 14 year old could break in via the window or the door. No tissues, no hairdryer, not enough towels, no clocks of any sort, very tired, rundown, and and dreary. We ate in the restaurant twice; dinner was ok not great, breakfast was also ok not great. Glad we got to see the park - very beautiful.

Room Tip: Try the Best Western - note that the owners of Ruby's seem to own a lot of the rooms at the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I started getting reservations for our Grand Canyon and other Canyon vacation in Febuary 2012. Bryce Canyon area was already sold out and Foster's Motel was the only place with vacancys. For some reason the room were going for $70.00 a night so I snapped up three considering myself lucky. You get what you pay for. These rooms were filthy and run down. The windows and air-conditners were installed in the '80s and hadn't been touched since then. The towels were worn out and thin, and the room carpets were indoor/outdoor dirty things. The bathrooms had been remodeled recently and there was plenty of hot water. We got what we needed, shelter from the elements, a place to go to the bathroom, and a shower. I would negotiate lower room rates though.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel

Address: 1150 Highway 12, Bryce, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have top quality service. Our rooms are inexpensive, clean and relaxing. Bryce Canyon National Park is one of the most beautiful and dramatic evidences of natural erosion in the world. Visitors from throughout the world come to Bryce Canyon Utah to view the magnificent limestone spires which fill the many amphitheaters within the national park. Oxidizing Iron has given these spires a myriad of red and orange hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s Bryce Canyon Motel Hotel Bryce
Fosters Motel Bryce
Fosters Hotel Bryce
Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Bryce Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.