We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Pines

Save Saved
You added Bryce Canyon Pines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryce Canyon Pines
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 12, Mile post 10, Bryce, UT 84764   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Large room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was a bit nervous when, upon receiving our room number, we continued past the main brick built block of rooms to what appeared to be a barn! However, inside the room was large and very nicely presented and my fears were allayed. The walls of our room did appear very thin, but I think most people at this motel were there for the same reasons as us and so we never heard any noise from them (although they may have been frustrated by our repeated 5 oclock exits to see sunrise).
There was also an exceptionally friendly cat hanging around outside our room on a couple of occasions to really make us feel at home. It is situated a little bit further out from Bryce NP than the Ruby's complex, but still a fair bit closer than the nearest town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    108
    75
    19
    28
See reviews for
85
133
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at Bryce Canyon Pines motel in November. When we checked in, the room (actually a cottage) was cold, so we turned up the heat and went to tour Bryce Canyon National Park. When we got back, the room was warm. It was more than a room though - a bedroom, living room, a room with 2 sinks and closet space, a bathroom, and a kitchen. The living room had a wood burning fireplace, and wood was provided for free. Outside was a porch with chairs for looking at the view.

The kitchen had a full size refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker, and plates, bowls, utensils, and pots and pans. It did not have a dishwasher, and I don't remember if it had a stove or not. There was a table and chairs there too, for eating.

But the star of the place was the wood burning fireplace. The fireplace had no damper (which I thought was strange, but would possibly explain why the room was cold when we arrived). But it did have a heatilator. The wood provided was very dry and easy to light. (Old newspapers were also provided for this). I'm not too sure what type of wood it was, but it blazed nicely, although it needed a lot of fire-tending to keep it blazing.

The wood supply was resupplied the next day. We enjoyed our stay here, as we explored Bryce Canyon National Park and toured along Route 12 (with it's fantastic scenery). We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed our meal there, too.

We'd go back to this motel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fireplaces. We asked specifically for one in our reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September. I’m not sure why there are comments here about the motel being old; new isn’t necessarily better and being European nothing in this part of the world is anything like approaching old! Our cabin was lovely; very clean, extremely comfortable, great views out of the window and from the porch and all the furnishings were good quality; the location is very quiet because cabins are far enough away from the road and well built and insulated. The restaurant is a place with a lot of character (take that however you like!). There is an eccentric “system” for welcoming and seating customers but the service is friendly and attentive; the food is very good given that this is place with no pretensions (you’d pay a great deal more if it was!); breakfasts are excellent; they provide a good range of wines and beers; the décor is cosy and interesting and there is a good mix of locals, travellers and tourists to make the place really interesting. We ate here for four evenings and were very satisfied. There is a gas station and laundry just over the road owned by the same people I think. This is an excellent base for exploring Bryce Canyon; and Bryce Canyon is most certainly worth exploring!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Bryce Canyon. Our room was clean and comfortable. It is an older motel, but they are doing what they can to make it nice. Definately recommended. It is less than 10 min from the park and we were able to go in for sunset the night we arrived and then sunrise early the next morning. The restaurant at the motel is excellent, food is good, service is friendly and quick, a definate plus! We would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed 2 night at Bryce Canyon Pines Motel. The motel is older as are most motels in this area of Utah. The price was good, it was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the location was perfect to visit Bryce Canyon. Their restaurant has the best food around. They are rater number 1 on TripAdvisor and that's why we ate there for every meal. They are known for their pies..... and after having several pieces during our stay, I know why, wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights in early October 2012. The motel is showing its age in many ways and is in need of updating. We stayed in a double queen room and the mattresses were old and springy; sheets were so thin you could almost see through them. The room was dark and fairly small. The property is right next to the road and therefore noisy from the many trucks, cars, campers, etc. going past it. The shower head only allowed for a trickle making a shower very difficult. No coffee in the room - and they ran out of coffee in the lobby in the morning. They had placed a housekeeping envelope in the room; printed on the envelope were instructions to place the tip in it, seal it, and bring to the front desk! The place was clean, however. The restaurant has good pies, but the rest of the food is average/below average. Do not recommend this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

While this isn't a high end resort, it is a nice place. The outside pictures do not do it justice. The rooms are clean, the location is nice, the staff is helpful and the restaurant is good. We stayed here as a starting point for an adventure ride and we had excellent dirt bike riding from the location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Canyon Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Pines

Address: Highway 12, Mile post 10, Bryce, UT 84764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bryce Canyon Pines 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to beautiful Bryce Canyon Pines. We provide free wireless internet, Cable with HBO, heat, air conditioning and more. We are located less than five minutes from Bryce Canyon National Park. Our quiet location offers rooms, cottages, campgrounds, and RV hookups perfect for any occasion. Please take advantage of our facilities like our outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryce Canyon Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Pines Hotel Bryce
Bryce Canyon Pines Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.