We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't experience any real problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Resort

Save Saved
You added Bryce Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Shildon, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't experience any real problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I can understand why some reviewers had their doubts about this resort, but we didn’t experience any real problems.
Ok, maybe the furniture needs updating and the tv remote needs a battery, but I didn’t feel as if I was in any mortal danger. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the guy at the check in desk was helpful and friendly. We had a room with a view of the small airport and the surrounding countryside. The hotel is on the main road, which wasn’t exactly busy – in fact, we didn’t see much traffic at all. Maybe it doesn't have some of life's comforts, but you need to adopt a tolerant point of view.
The restaurant is the resort’s strong point. We had breakfast and dinner in here twice, and the food was excellent at a good rate. The staff were really friendly, informative and chatty.
The hotel is an easy drive away from the canyon entrance. The best idea is to park near the bus pick up in the city, and use the shuttle bus service. It’s far easier using the bus to get around the park than using your own car – and if you get chance, go on the three hour shuttle deeper into the park, you see a lot more.
To be honest, my wife and I are experienced travellers, and we’ve had worse experiences in the last 20 years at some hotels in the USA that are supposedly rated higher then the Bryce Canyon Resort. In previous replies to posts, the owner has clearly explained the hotel’s strategy – so don’t expect five star treatment.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the airfield on the top deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    75
    88
    97
See reviews for
76
129
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but it was clean! Needs updating badly! Many of the electrical outlets were worn and my phone charger would simply fall out. Booked early and got a good rate. Employees were very friendly!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I am not quite sure how the word resort got in the name, but here is the info. The room was clean and the help was polite with coffee in the lobby. A coffee maker in your room was ten dollars per night. The furniture was tired looking but clean. If you kids have never seen a square tv you might want stay here. We did not eat at their restaurant.

Room Tip: If you call the Bryce Canyon Lodge direct you can probably get a room. There was a nearby local rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Cabin look was nice but worn. Door does not have a deadbolt on it, which being located right on the highway would seem important to me. Bathroom was dirty, with a the shower head coming out from a whole in the wall (not sealed). Cheap shower rings with cheap shower curtain. Bathroom linoleum floor was scratched and weathered. Paint patches throughout cabin, very outdated furniture, fixtures and linens. Size of cabin was great. Loved having the kitchen area with the sink in the separate living room. Room was fine but not worth the excessive amount they charge. With limited hotels in the area, they can get away with it. Restaurant on-site had good food with a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here because it had an available room when everywhere else was booked. They gave us a cabin, which was fun. A very large bathroom with an excellent shower. The bedroom itself was worn but clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Based on the reviews and photos on here I was worried about what to expect however it was the only hotel with rooms available that was close to Bryce Canyon so we booked it anyway.

The rooms were enormous and kept clean. We had a dressing room as well as a bathroom and the bedroom. The TV channel selection was great and the rooms were a motel style where you could drive up to your room. There was no wifi in the room and to use this you had to walk down to the lobby however they had nice couches to sit on there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We found other hotels in the area already booked. It was advertised as an hotel but on arriving found it was a motel.There was a two storey building with double rooms with either queen or king beds from what we saw. The remaining units appeared to be log cabins and an attached RV site. In the Bryce area, there are few hotels to choose from. The motel itself was at the intersection of SR12 and 63 some 4 miles from the State Park but handy for the scenic route to Boulder. Also we did not hear any noise from the Rodeo show at Rubys Inn.

Despite a refit of the bathroom, the bedroom was gloomy and fittings old and worn. There was dust on the bed head and sheets did not fit the mattress. The bedspread appeared dirty. The motel was likened to a log cabin and in need of refreshing. The decorations were dark. In winter I suspect it would be drafty due to the exposed nature of the complex and the gap under the door. However, many of the accommodations near Bryce appeared to be in the style of log cabins, but not to our taste. There was a flat screen full size HD TV but no coffee facilities in the room.

As said, the shower head was low on the wall and my husband had to crouch down to wash his hair. There was a laundrette on site tho 1 machine and dryer were out of order. In all, a little run down.

Room Tip: We were offered 3 rooms and chose g/f king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Resort

Address: 13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Canyon Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic resort offers the charm of yesteryear. Escape from the hustle and bustle of the hi-tech world and return to a time when Cowboys road horses through the outback of the Wild West.Visit the hiding places of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or hike the hoodoos of Byrce Canyon. No matter what your visit, leave your cares at the door and escape to this charming inn.After a long day, saddle up to the bar and ask the bartender for any icy cold beer to wash away the dust. Or enjoy a thick juicy steak at the Cowboy Ranch House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bryce Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce
Canyon Bryce
Bryce Canyon Resort Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.