We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bryce Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Bryce Canyon Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We found other hotels in the area already booked. It was advertised as an hotel but on arriving found it was a motel.There was a two storey building with double rooms with either queen or king beds from what we saw. The remaining units appeared to be log cabins and an attached RV site. In the Bryce area, there are few hotels to choose from. The motel itself was at the intersection of SR12 and 63 some 4 miles from the State Park but handy for the scenic route to Boulder. Also we did not hear any noise from the Rodeo show at Rubys Inn.

Despite a refit of the bathroom, the bedroom was gloomy and fittings old and worn. There was dust on the bed head and sheets did not fit the mattress. The bedspread appeared dirty. The motel was likened to a log cabin and in need of refreshing. The decorations were dark. In winter I suspect it would be drafty due to the exposed nature of the complex and the gap under the door. However, many of the accommodations near Bryce appeared to be in the style of log cabins, but not to our taste. There was a flat screen full size HD TV but no coffee facilities in the room.

As said, the shower head was low on the wall and my husband had to crouch down to wash his hair. There was a laundrette on site tho 1 machine and dryer were out of order. In all, a little run down.

Room Tip: We were offered 3 rooms and chose g/f king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    83
    98
    112
See reviews for
82
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here thinking the other places were booked. The rooms are very old and tired. The beds are old. The towels are thin and stained. The floor is dirty from use. The shower head in the bathroom is for someone 4 foot tall!!! No coffee maker in the room. The room door has openings at the bottom allowing free access to bugs.

You have to get ice at the front desk and the receptionist has to get it for you.
The front desk staff are very friendly.
I would only stay here if you have no alternative.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked this hotel because the others were full or too expensive. Despite the name of "Bryce Canyon Resort," its more of a motel, although they charge "hotel" prices. So what's wrong?: holes in the carpet, stains, dingy furniture, a slanted floor near the bathroom sink, and a smoke alarm that kept beeping in the middle of the night--had to get up and yank the battery out of it. There's no wifi in the rooms, but you can go to the hotel lobby. I guess I wouldn't be so upset, but I had paid $130 for one night's stay. I had just come from Zion where I had spent the same amount of money for a beautiful hotel room--so this was a big letdown. However, one positive: I was able to check in early. Next time I visit the Bryce area, I'll stay elsewhere or just do a daytrip from Zion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It is close to Bryce Canyon NP. If hotels inside Bryce Canyon have been fully booked, then this is a good choice. No complimentary breakfast and WIFI are included. WIFI is offered only in the front desk office. The room is just fine for a short stay. No microwave and refrigerator are included in the room but guess they could be included upon request. Don't worry if you arrive the hotel later then 10:00pm. They will stick the envelope with a welcome letter and the room key on the door window.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations on the hotel and the surrounding area with TripAdvisor readers.

We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Bryce Canyon National park with all of its inspiring views.

We look forward to your return visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

To beginning with the room was reasonably clean and the motel is reasonably close to Bryce NP. From there it is downhill. We went during the Memorial week, so everything else that was reasonably close was already fully booked on the online sites. However, almost every hotel in the little town of Bryce City had a vacancy sign when we arrived. I did read some bad reviews, but I am accustomed to guests that nothing satisfies. The online pictures looked OK, so we booked anyway. The main thing the motel has going for it is real estate mantra of location location. If this motel was almost anywhere else, it would have a sign out front begging to sell you a room for a sub $40 price. If price is your only issue, you might try one of the less expensive motels several miles away. If quality, amenities, service and convenience are your main issues, pay the price for one of hotels in Bryce City. If you are not going on a weekend and the online sites show the better hotels sold out, call directly or take a chance of just showing up. If you strike out in Bryce City, there will be something available within 5-15 miles
As for the ownership responses to reviews and to the quips you get in person at the "resort"; the canned “unplug and enjoy nature” might be acceptable, if the nature of the "resort" did not resemble a parking lot for 18 wheelers. As to one of the owner comments of getting back to a simpler time in response to a bad review, it is true—What you get is a 1950-1960 era motel room with a digital color TV. I found the reasoning for the lack of amenities and service dis-ingenuous. It appeared to me that a couple of urbanites purchased a rundown motel and tried to rehab it with little knowledge of what they were doing or it was remolded by a fix-it and run flipper and purchased by a gullible dreamer. The ginger bread fix-up still looks OK at first glance and at a distance, but underneath the age and poor quality of construction workmanship is bleeding through. As others have commented the online photos do not show the reality of the motel.
Also having worked at hotels myself, the attitude of the staff and owners when it comes to actually delivering the few services and amenities they do offer could use a serious attitude adjustment. Unplug and take it easy seems to be more what the owners are doing rather than their guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Jim it is always nice to hear reviews from a fellow hotelier. We appreciate that you understood our core concept of clean comfortable and affordable accommodations, as that is what we try to provide all of our guests.

You are absolutely correct that other hotels in the area (the brand name hotels) offer the extra bells and whistles such as flat screen TVs and typical hotel breakfast. And those free ammenities come at a cost which is typically 1.5 to 2 times more expensive than our inn.

We make no excuses or apologies for our lack of flat screen TVs or in-room internet. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable lodging while you visit one of the most scenic areas in the world. We believe the park should be explored and enjoyed, not viewed on Youtube from inside a hotel room.

We do hope you enjoyed your visit to Bryce Canyon National Park and will come again often.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is not a resort. Do not believe any good reviews on Booking.com about this property. It is a $29/night motel pretending to be a $150/night resort hotel. We had 2 nights booked and cancelled the 2nd night within 5 min of check-in, should have cancelled both and slept in the car.
Thin mattresses, thin walls, thin towels, old A/C that left us all with respiratory problems. 1994 called and they want their small tube TV back from room 147. Nothing nice to say about this "resort".

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at our inn. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price for the area.

I will be the first to admit that we do have older style Televisions. And we do not offer internet in our guest rooms. Our focus is and will continue to be on visiting the Bryce Canyon National Park. We believe the park is a special place that needs to be seen to understand its vast beauty and inspiring views. We dont believe that can be done from inside a hotel room watching CNN.

We do hope that you ejoyed your visit to the park and will return often to enjoy it's majestic sights.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a strange place. The name is misleading, it's a motel with a restaurant, it's not a resort. The room we had was gloomy. There are 3 lights in the room, 2 of them are wall lights set on a dark green wall, the other is a floor standing lamp. None of them had bight bulbs. By contrast there are 4 lights in the small room with the wash basin, and there are 6 lights in the even smaller shower/toilet area. The towels were grubby. The TV is ancient, but at least it worked, even though the picture quality was really poor. There is wifi only in the lobby and restaurant. No kettle or coffee maker in the room, but hot drinks are free in the lobby - but who wants to walk 50 yards to get 2 cups of hot liquid and carry them back to their room, up badly lit stairs (the light on the stairs didn't work)?
While I was using the wifi in the lobby some people walked in wanting a room for that night. The reception staff insisted that all they had available was a package of the room plus dinner plus the evenings entertainment of some country singers. I felt an attempt was being made to take advantage of there only being one room available that night.
Bryce Canyon is lovely. Bryce Canyon Resort isn't. I would advise people to avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Resort

Address: 13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Canyon Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic resort offers the charm of yesteryear. Escape from the hustle and bustle of the hi-tech world and return to a time when Cowboys road horses through the outback of the Wild West.Visit the hiding places of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or hike the hoodoos of Byrce Canyon. No matter what your visit, leave your cares at the door and escape to this charming inn.After a long day, saddle up to the bar and ask the bartender for any icy cold beer to wash away the dust. Or enjoy a thick juicy steak at the Cowboy Ranch House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bryce Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce
Canyon Bryce
Bryce Canyon Resort Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.