We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets you by in a pinch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Resort

Save Saved
You added Bryce Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Gets you by in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Pulling into town on Tuesday, May 7th, without a reservation, we went straight to Ruby's.. They had no pet rooms (which we needed) available...Actually there were no vacancies of any kind...Really? All taken by the tour bus folks is what they said! OK, now what? So the very helpful desk staff there, sent us to "Bryce Canyon Resort"...First let me say that the word "resort" is really miss used here...It didn't make a very good first impression on us....It's a mixed bag of motel/cabins/trailer park ...And I mean some of it is old, and just plum wore out....Our room 111, was at least cheap...$111.00 for 2 nights...I think this was part of the original complex...The actual bedroom wasn't bad.....But the bathroom sink/vanity, and toilet/shower room, had a lowered ceiling. It had the feel of a trailer house...Like it was added on later perhaps? The shower head was at the 5 foot level...The A.C./heater unit was a hundred years old, but still worked good....And it was bone chilling cold when we were there...Beds were comfortable, water was hot, toilet flushed, TV worked....The walls were VERY thin and we could hear our neighbors all too well.....And guess what? Everyone had to go to the lobby to use the WiFi...What? In 2013? And they had coffee and hot water for tea there also..Yeah!
The desk staff were super nice and friendly....Thanks Guys!

We looked at other motels/restaurants just down the U.S.Highway 12 west, and from the outsides they looked much worse! I wonder why this area just outside of beautiful Bryce Canyon, is so much dumpier than the nice area (Springdale) just outside of Zion Nat'l Park?

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    78
    92
    94
See reviews for
71
122
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Considering the price of the room, the amenities exceeded all of my expectations. The bed was not very comfortable, the room itself was very outdated, and it was not the most comfortable place. However, after a day horseback riding in Bryce in the sun, it was great just to have a place to sleep before the ride to the GC the next day. I recommend a stay here for anyone on a budget that is not fussy, and can handle below-average quality for the price. The staff was very friendly from my limited experience, and the food was pretty good a well. The one thing that caught me off guard about the whole experience was a mandatory gratuity on a bill for two diners. I'd just be mindful of this for your stay, even though the amount itself wasn't more than I'd usually give. It just caught me off-guard...I'm sure it was in the fine print somewhere.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was much better than I had expected...it was big and had a large vanity space...it was not that dirty as I had thought reading some other reviews but neverthless the carpet was not spic and span...advice would be to pick a pair of slippers if you stay here...but overall large clean and spacious...and very very near to the Bryce canyon...perfect place to stay a night there....room does not have refrigerator or microwave..but we got ice packets from front desk..for our baby's milk...also there is no internet in the room...which is ok if you are vacationing anyway...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Cheap price and good location. Its probably a better spot in season, however in February, leaves things to be desired. We never saw anyone in the hotel in the 2 days we were there. Key was left taped to the reception door for our check in. Had to move lightbulbs around so we had light in every room. Room too far away from WiFi modem to ever get a connection. As an indication of the seasonality though, there was only one place open for meals in the village (must have been 7 or 8 places to stay).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not much else to say... Outdated hotel, I think "Resort" is miused here... It's a rustic place, but overall it was clean and close to the Park so it served its purpose for the night. They did offer Four-wheeler tours right from the hotel so that was also a plus and not a bad price so we did that tour. The majority of the rooms were empty during the time we were there so nice and quiet. The restauant onsite was closed also though so no review there...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the off season, so we had 2 option in Bryce. This or the best western, which was double the price. There was one employee, but he was friendly. The room was clean enough, but dated. We probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Short version: The plusses are the rooms and the proximity to the Canyon. The minuses are the awful staff (minus one awesome maintenance guy) that made us wait outside their hotel for an hour to help us while our car was stuck in the driveway. If you don't want an experience like the one detailed below, don't book here.

What happened: We got to the lodge around 1am during a big snowfall. Luckily we made our reservations online earlier that night. There was a lit sign that said open so we drove into the driveway.. only to get our vehicle stuck. We walked to the main office (luckily they had a room surrounding the main door where we could wait, but it was unheated and only took out the wind chill factor in 15 degree weather). There were two doorbells, and a sign that said "for emergencies only, call this number." We rang those doorbells and called that "emergency" line for 40 minutes; during that whole time we wished our car wasn't stuck so we could go to another hotel. Finally after 40 minutes the guy (maybe the owner?) called back. He wasn't apologetic and didn't seem empathetic to our situation at all. He said that he'll send some guy over, and after 20 minutes a very helpful maintenance guy shoveled us out of the snow, checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was huge, clean, and was already plenty heated when we got in. The maintenance guy was very helpful, but the owner or whoever was in charge was awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryce Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Resort

Address: 13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Canyon Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic resort offers the charm of yesteryear. Escape from the hustle and bustle of the hi-tech world and return to a time when Cowboys road horses through the outback of the Wild West.Visit the hiding places of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or hike the hoodoos of Byrce Canyon. No matter what your visit, leave your cares at the door and escape to this charming inn.After a long day, saddle up to the bar and ask the bartender for any icy cold beer to wash away the dust. Or enjoy a thick juicy steak at the Cowboy Ranch House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Bryce Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce
Canyon Bryce
Bryce Canyon Resort Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.