We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summertime not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Chalets

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brighton Chalets
Save
You added Brighton Chalets to your Saves list
2750 E 9800 S, Big Cottonwood Canyon., Brighton, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Summertime not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here during July so we could get early starts on hiking and do stargazing at night. We stayed in the Studio room.

The location can't be beat. It is right next to Brighton Ski Resort. There are many lakes within a couple miles that you can hike to.

The studio room is between other buildings. You have a parking lot you can use the propane barbeque and sit in chairs around. It isn't private if there are other guests staying in other rooms. In fact, our neighbors had kids that literally would stand our patio chairs to peek into our front living room. They also killed a sick chipmunk in front of our unit that my son was hoping we could get wildlife officials to save. The neighbor put it in a plastic bag and smashed its head in front of my young son who has cried for hours after watching. He is still upset about it. But, there is no front desk to go speak to about your neighbors. You need to deal with it yourself or call the manager. Since the other units were being rented by the same family, and their grandpa killed a chipmunk in front of my door, I wasn't sure I could anonymously report them. But it wasn't the getaway I was hoping for.

There is no air conditioning. In July the one room fan needs to run constantly, and it is loud. It doesn't get cool enough to sleep in the room until after midnight. The Studio has 2 loveseats, one that pulls out into a bed, a queen in the loft, and a full bed in a bedroom. I slept in the bedroom with my feet dangling off the bottom of this small bed. I am 5' 5" and still couldn't fit with my legs straight. There is a really old TV in the room. The window was missing a screen so I couldn't open it or I would have a bug problem.

They have lots of TV channels, a kitchen with all the tools you need for cooking, a table with 4 chairs as well. The bathroom is up in the loft and has a very powerful shower, no tub.

As you enter the room there is a storage area for your outdoor equipment which is handy.

I won't go there in summertime again. Its too hot without a cooler in July. Also, the lack of privacy or onsite management will probably keep me from returning. I could live without an onsite management office happily if there were privacy.

I think winter would be good since the resort is next door. That would be the only reason to ever consider staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridge City, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The price was fantastic! $450 + tax for 7 nights. Sweet deal. Stayed in the Lodge, which is a very old building which needs updating very badly. The Lodge was clean & so was the bathrooms. Kitchen descent size for the 4 of us(Lodge sleeps 16). Pool table needs new balls. Did not play due to all the divots in cue ball. Older TV, but had dish channels. Floors were slanted upstairs where the bedrooms were located.Limited space for suitcases & no place to put clothes except on hooks. When they say ski i/ski out I did not realize it began with the beds. lol. Beds were fairly comfortable. Plenty of linens provided. Very good heating system. We had to keep turning the heat down, but that was because we liked it cooler than 70. Very short walk to Silver Lake which we did everyday. It would be a short walk to ski resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful views, a walk from several hikes, and the family all loved it.

We saved our summer vacation time for October to avoid crowds and have a little peace. The chalet was so cozy and easily fit our family of six. We took a couple of hikes, including silver lake, which is about a two minute walk from the cabin. The full kitchen made it easier to take care of all our family's needs without having to eat out every meal. The kids LOVED the huge tubs and it was so peaceful. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Green, Utah, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the second chalet (in the back of the one that faces the road)
Positives
Fairly spacious
Close to Brighton ski resort
Saw a moose
Pool table (old)

Negatives
Very old and in need of updating/repair
One shower (we had 17 people)
Few dishes or silverware
Not the least bit accessible for disabled or elderly persons (steep staircase, parking space very narrow)
Beds and mattresses old, uncomfortable (we still have sore backs!)

Room Tip: Bring your own mattress. Stay here only if you can get a super cheap rate because there are few ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed the past 2 weekends up at the Brighton Chalets and have found it to be a fantastic experience. The first weekend I stayed at the lodge with my family. This was a little overkill as far as sleeping arrangements go (It sleeps 18, we had 5), but the main reason we booked it was for the ping pong and pool table entertainment. Had a few family "matches" and a great time with the tourney.

My wife and I then returned to the "Sunshine Suite" the following week. Great accomodations and everything needed to bbq a few steaks for dinner. The mountain atmosphere was fantastic this time of year and a stroll around the lake capped off a nice evening there.

Rosemary was great to work with in reserving our spots and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have skied all over Europe and much of the U.S. and stayed in lodgings that range from modest single-room apartments to spa hotels, but this place was our rock-bottom experience. The promo for this "chalet" said "perfect for family." Well, how about a family that arrived to find not a single closet, chest of drawers or ANY place to store all their clothing and ski apparel? The promo says "Wi-Fi" available everywhere in the "chalet". Simply not true. We finally got service in another "chalet" across the parking lot. The promo says "3 minute walk to Brighton Resort." Simply not true. The promo promises a "BBQ for relaxing family dinner." Reality was a filthy gas kettle in disrepair with no lighter. When we complained about this, the owner's response was, "Sorry you had to be inconvenienced by using a match." The promo says "three bedrooms." Again, not true. There are two bedrooms; the third "bedroom" is a double bed beneath the staircase in the living room. The promo says "full kitchen." This was beyond not true: small broken saucepans; 6 dinner plates (for 2 families?); 1 broken steak knife; no dishwasher; ancient range with dirty oven; zero wine glasses - get the picture of this "full kitchen"? This "chalet" epitomizes the broken promises of a very flawed promo description. Our advice? Stay a few miles down the road at Solitude - abundant, first-class lodging, and do your skiing at Brighton Resort (which, unlike Brighton Chalets, is a first-class operation.)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Perfect spot for the family. Super clean Bedroom is huge! Fireplace super nice. Only wish the tv in the living room was better so kids would have stayed in there and given us parents some more alone time. Great location perfect time of year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Chalets

Address: 2750 E 9800 S, Big Cottonwood Canyon., Brighton, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Brighton
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brighton
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Brighton Chalets Hotel Brighton
Brighton Chalets Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.