We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brighton Lodge
Save
You added Brighton Lodge to your Saves list
12601 E Big Cottonwood Cyn Rd, Brighton, UT 84121-9741   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Accomodations here were clean and comfortable. Really- I would stay here again in a flash. First, the location is tremendous- right on the mountain; Second, our room was tidy and spotless; Third, the lobby was a blast from the past; Fourth, the price was good; Fifth, there was a great outdoors hottub.

The manager - Monika Dietz was just great. She made us feel very welcome, and she just "fit" the place. It's an older property and felt like the 70's and to keep the 70's feel, Monika played Grateful Dead music and Jefferson Airplane, Crosby Stills and Nash. You get the idea. There's a round fireplace pit and a greenhouse window-end thingy in the lobby. We had a Christmas tree. There are games galore to play, movies to check out and play on the VHS player (in the recreation area), and even a wall pay phone in one of the hallways (something you don't see anymore). This lodge has guest rooms and hostel bunk rooms to rent. There was a microwave and cooler for guests' use in the recreation area. I felt like I was in college in the 70s again, and there were plenty of young lodge guests there that were so fun to talk with.

I have to say we had NO mice in our room, it was extremely quiet (no snowplows), was very clean, and exactly what we needed. Our only complaint was that the wall thermostat didn't seem to work, but we never asked anyone to fix it and we were comfortable, so what the hay! (And I've stayed in way more expensive rooms that had the same problem)

Breakfast was cereal, toast, and packaged muffins. All the hot chocolate and coffee you wanted all day long. Obviously nothing special, but it worked. We had dinner at Molly Greens - also at the mountain - and it was really good as well (try the jalapeno burger). The food was delicious (and hot contrary to another person's complaint) and the drinks were fabulous. There was a fancier restaurant down the road that would pick you up at the lodge and bring you back, but we opted for the cuisine closer by so we could head to bed a little earlier.

Room Tip: Get a room on the mountain side. Not only is it prettier, it's easier to get to the lifts and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hot tub was a welcome accomodation but everything else was sub-par. It was run down, more college dorm like. The sink was dirty and the room didn't have a phone to call the front desk. We settled into the bed tired from a drive from Moab. About an hour after we went to bed we were awakened to the sound of a snowplow scraping the parkinglot in front of the lodge. The scraping was only offset by the noise of the scraper reversing and then we heard the back-up beeps. Over and over all night long, scraaaaapppe followed by beep, beep, beep, beep. It was very frustrating, especially since it hadn't barely snowed at all prior to our arrival&didn't snow but perhaps and inch overnight. Plowing the parking lot could have waited until 6 or 7 a.m. at least since the ski slope doesn't even open till 9 and the parking lot is not that large. Skiing the next day was nice but it would have been much nicer with some sleep. When we checked out the next morning, the front desk lady was raking two college age boys over the coals about proper cleaning and using a lot of expletives in the process. Not exactly what I wanted to hear during my breakfast- if you could call the dry cereal with milk and prepackaged sticky buns that. Next time we will try the other ski lodge down the road a ways.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If the staff could get any more friendlier and hospitable I would be looking at the Pearly Gates! If you are looking for a vacation that is all comfort and relaxing.....you will love this! Yes, it is an older building with cinder blocks, not alot of frill, just plenty of time to read, talk, nap, and ski. We literally woke up, went downstairs for continental breakfast, got on our boots and hit the lift which was 50 feet away. We skiied back to our room for lunch, quick nap, then back for the entire afternoon. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at anytime 24/7. Restaurant next door with views of slope and lift has excellent burgers also. Big snow overnite and you are on the lofts alone before anyone can get up the mountain...BONUS

Room Tip: rooms facing mountain not parking lot have great views and trail for lift is rite there...literally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Pro-Location is ideal for skiing at Brighton which really is a great place to ski. Second, the staff is friendly.
Considerable cons- Cinderblock, old mattress, old everything and "raveled at the sleeve." Bad coffee, powder cream and I did not even look at the cereal. All that and overpriced, too. Simply said, this building should be razed and replaced by an accommodation that the resort and staff can be proud of.

For the same price you can stay in the Village at Solitude (1mile away) in a really terrific condo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

If you want to stay on the ski slopes in Brighton, Utah. This is your only choice.

Cons:
• The rooms are a little old and the walls quite thin (I could hear most of what was being discussed in the next room).
• Breakfast consists on some cereals, bagels/toast and porridge... Not great, but there is a bar and cafeteria close by that also do breakfast.
• No TV in the rooms, there is a general lounge room with a large TV

Pros:
• Staff are very friendly, Monika (owner) is very helpful.
• The staff make sure the noise is kept to a minimum at night.
• The staff will collect your ski passes for you in the morning.
• The rooms are warm and the beds comfortable.
• It's right on the slopes, ski in/ ski out.

Value wise, it could be better... It cost me $900 for 3 nights accommodation, including 4 days lift passes, for two people. Yet, it's cheaper and easier to stay here than somewhere cheaper down the mountain and travel up everyday.

The skiing in Brighton is fantastic, much better than Solitude

Room Tip: Many rooms are accessed from outside the hotel, try and get one that is accessed from inside to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Not for everybody... but if you want to step back in time, read a book, talk with other guests, sit by the fire,and best of all, be steps away from the slopes, go here! This is the one true ski-in and ski out and we have tried many. No phones, tv or amenities, but a delightful staff and comfortable enough for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

We had a chance for a quick ski weekend and gave the lodge a chance. They had a great deal for 2 nights, continental breakfast and 2 free lift tickets with the suite. All for $179. The room was named the face. Each room had a new double bed with new clean sheets. No mice or bugs seen by us. No TV or phone in room. Was nice change to get away from them. The hot tub heater was broken. Should be fixed by now.
Overall we had a great time skiing and a comfortable place to sleep.
Look for the special deals otherwise can be expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Lodge

Address: 12601 E Big Cottonwood Cyn Rd, Brighton, UT 84121-9741
Location: United States > Utah > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Brighton Hotel Brighton
Brighton Lodge Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.