We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old-school American ski lodge experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Fork Lodge

The Silver Fork Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Silver Fork Lodge to your Saves list
The Silver Fork Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11332 E. Big Cottonwood Canyon, Brighton, UT 84121   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brighton
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The old-school American ski lodge experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

While riding in the 4WD van through the canyon in a snowstorm, the driver asked us which mountain we were staying at. When we said "The Silver Fork" he replied "Oh wow, how cool is that?" We weren't sure if that was a genuine sign of a good choice in accommodations or if we'd picked the "unusual choice" for the worse! But we were not disappointed one bit with our decision.

It turns out that the Silver Fork Lodge hasn't changed much since the 1950's in terms of the building and rooms. The place is all wood, and I mean ALL wood, sporting big rustic old beams, a narrow staircase up to the rooms, creaky floors and classic Western-themed decorations with a myriad of "cowboy and Indian" prints covering the wooden walls. The first word that quickly comes to mind when you enter is "cozy." The common areas are warm and inviting, and have no shame at all in being dated; proudly keeping all the robust antique furniture made from tree trunks that have probably seen World War II, and will likely be around for the next 50 years too. Coffee, reading materials and a warm stove draw you in to curl up with a good book or grab a nap.

The small number of rooms in the lodge are all upstairs above the common areas and restaurant. The rooms are modestly sized, and some might even be described as cramped, but the beds are comfortable, and you won't feel any chills, even on the coldest of nights. There were no problems with cleanliness, but some of the fixtures are showing their age and should probably be updated. Fair warning: the walls are paper-thin, and I'm not exaggerating when I say that you can hear everything that your neighbors are saying (or doing), and vice-versa. During the hours that the restaurant is open, there's also a decent amount of sound that comes in through the floor as well in the rooms which are furthest down the hall. Thankfully, we lucked out and didn't really have any issues with noise.

With regard to the restaurant, the food was very good and never left us wanting. The hearty breakfasts are included with your stay, and taking advantage of them feels more like walking downstairs to eat in the kitchen of your house than being in a hotel. You almost want to wear your pajamas in the dining room; it's just that comfy. The space is open with huge windows looking out to the vista, a roaring fireplace, and the same consistently kitschy decor found throughout the building. The difference here, though, is that it feels genuine. Every meal we had was tasty and came with large portions so bring your appetite. The usual American fare is here, but the Silver Fork spices it up with some innovative twists on classic dishes, so I recommend choosing the more unusual items if you can, because they're worth a try. The service was reliably good and we never had a reason not to tip. Be sure to try some of their house-made sourdough bread made from a starter that's older than I am.

Easily one of the best things about staying here is the free shuttle service that will bring you to pretty much anywhere in the canyon. Once we were done with our breakfast, we asked for a lift to whichever mountain we were skiing that day and were brought there post-haste. Once we were done skiing? We called the lodge on our cell and got picked up again. The combination of this and using a van service from the airport meant we didn't need to rent a car or brave Cottonwood's snow-covered roads! If nightlife and lively apres-ski is your thing, the shuttle can take you to the other resorts too, within reason.

The Silver Fork is where we will stay the next time we head to Brighton hands-down. Our days there consisted of: good night's sleep, tasty breakfast, free ride to mountain, ski all day, free ride to cozy room to change, delicious dinner, sleep, repeat. If you want to marathon ski or ride in Cottonwood Canyon, this is the place to rest your head.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Silver Fork for 4 nights at the end of February and like to think of it as a home away from home type atmosphere, but more rustic. I've now been a guest of the lodge on three occasions. It's simple and could use some updates, but it's more than sufficient for what we want when we go skiing. The staff is accomodating, the food is great (awesome breakfast) and if the weather cooperates, the deck outside the restaurant is a great place to have a beverage after a day on the slopes. Another big plus is the location is only five minutes from Solitude or Brighton ski areas and the lodge provides free shuttle service. We met people staying in he lodge that had traveled from as far away as Scotland and Austrailia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've been staying at the lodge for three nights in February for skiing. It is very close to both Brighton and Solitude and I can absolutely recommend it. The rooms were absolutely big enough for us, there is a nice hot tub and a sauna to warm up after a long day of skiing and I especially liked the "wooden lodge" feel of the place. A huge breakfast was included in our rate, quite a nice surprise. The staff also did their best to fulfil special requests (for instance, a late checkout).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a beautiful location in the mountains. The rooms and hotel are not particularly fancy, but are comfortable. The people were very friendly, and the room includes a good breakfast. Overall, recommended, and I plan to be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The rooms need a major upgrade. Broken tp holder, chipped tub, hot hot rooms with no breeze or fan to bring in breeze from outside. The best thing this place has going for it is the dining room, common room and bar, which are all very cool. Staff is nice and helpful. I just don't know that I'd tell a friend to go out of the way to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The wedding and reception at the Silver Fork Lodge went off without a problem! The outdoor setting was beautiful and the weather cooperated. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff,from owner to banquet manager,and wait staff were supportive,helpful, and went out of their way to provide a quality experience for all of us. Most importantly, the Bride(my beautiful daughter) and Groom told us that the wedding was PERFECT! My wife and I were equally impressed. If you are looking for a rustic setting for weddings,meetings,or a comfortable place to eat or stay in the beautiful Wasatch Mountains,just an hours drive from the Salt Lake City Airport,you need to check out this special facility

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Silver Fork Lodge is quaint, rustic and a great value. Breakfast is included and is fabulous! Better yet, the staff is amazing. Beth rocks the restaurant and Jake knows his stuff when if comes to recommending hikes and rock climbing areas. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful.

A fun place from which to launch for great rock climbing and hiking.

Room Tip: Navajo. Although it's the first room and you do hear everyone coming in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silver Fork Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Fork Lodge

Address: 11332 E. Big Cottonwood Canyon, Brighton, UT 84121
Location: United States > Utah > Brighton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Silver Fork Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Silver Fork Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silver Fork Lodge Brighton, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Fork Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.