We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great across the board” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill

Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill
Highway 12 & Burr Trail, Boulder, UT 84716
+1 435-335-7511
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Boulder
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Grill, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great across the board”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wonderful place. Amazing patio space with nice views in the background. We ended up having dinner here two nights in a row. I had Trout the first night which was a large filet. Broiled with a very good combination of spices. Rice accompaniment with pumpkin? seeds mixed in. Second night had a Lamb burger with feta and sour cream/mint sauce. Also had a chipotle aioli with skillet potatoes that our wonderful waitress recommended. My friend had enchiladas both nights and we thought it was very good as well. We had pie a la mode both nights. The Caramel Apple was an A+ and the Ginger berry a B+ (and Im not really a pie guy so it has to be very good for me to like it).

As has been mentioned the cost was 12-17 bucks per entree. Im not sure why people are complaining. It was very good food in general and if it was in the Denver area I would likely go a few times a year. Given Boulder, Utah is in the middle of nowhere and it is essentially a resort type area the prices are very reasonable.

Highly recommend trying this place if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    151
    49
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
So. Fla.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Put this on your "bucket list"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were traveling In our RV visiting Utah, one of my favorite states, and heard about the restaurant. We went there and we're so pleasantly surprised that I had to review it. It is located 18 miles east of Escalante on HWY 12 in Boulder, Utah. There is a restaurant and a trading post/coffee shop/art gallery next to each other. We ate in the restaurant and had a hard time making up our minds because the selection was so unique. We ordered FRIED GREEN TOMATOES for a starter and a LAMB BURGER for lunch. We shared both orders and found the portions to be more than hearty. For dessert we shared PEACH PIE with HOMEMADE VANILLA ICE CREAM (I am still dreaming about that........) in addition, the service was perfect. I so highly recommend this to all visiting the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Who could have guessed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were traveling from Torrey to Moab and stopped at the Burr Trail because there were few other choices. We did notice the parking lot was crowded, but we thought where else is there to eat. We could not have been more wrong, the food was wonderful and the service quite good. We shared entrees and were pleased with the quality, quantity and cost. After reading reviews I find we also needed to try the pie. If you are ever near Boulder, Utah make the effort and take the time to eat at the Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Place to Recharge While Enjoying Utah's Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Burr Trail Grill is along Utah's scenic byway #12 about five minutes south of the Anasazi Museum. For such an out-of-the-way place, the food was both interesting and well-prepared. Mostly sandwiches and burgers with great fresh pies (yes, you can take a slice to go if you get hungry after your afternoon hiking). On a nice day, the outdoor seating in the shade is perfect.

We actually arrived a little early before the restaurant opened and took a short drive down the adjacent Burr Trail to check out the scenery there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

One of the best meals I have had on our vacation. The service was great. Very accommodating to my gluten free issues, since I have celiac's disease. Setting lovely. Great looking pies.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burr Trail Trading Post and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.