We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly sanctuary in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulder Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Boulder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly sanctuary in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We went down and hiked Peekaboo and Spooky slot canyons. The Lodge is the perfect base camp. The rooms are huge and salubrious. There are three restauraunt choices within 2 minuits walk. The hot tub is just the perfect place to relax under the stars after a days hiking in Grand Staircase National Monument (especially if you have the new I phone App that photos the constellations and tells you all about them). The Lodge is also Dog friendly. It's a unique structure build with huge local Ponderosa timbers. It's quiet and peaceful and one is always surrounded by kindred spirits even if they are from all over the world they are all so thrilled to be where they are.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    56
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just last week(8/25/2010) we were on the way to Capital Reef national Park via spending one night in Boulder Mountain Lodge, It is a very nice location, the room were nice, but it was not worth the price of $173.00 + tax a night. This is an outrageous price for the facility like this one. the view is average, no service of any kind, the front desk clerk was very cold and never smile(this is not the person name" Mary"). She was so rude and unpleasant that made my partner and I felt like " what did we do? to deserved a treatment like this". That sum up our experience with Boulder Mountain Lodge!!. We check out on 8/26/2010, hope the mgr. can find out who she is!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmlom, Manager at Boulder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations for value. Our rates are comparable to or lower than similar accommodations in Southern Utah. Rates during our high season range from $120 to $190, depending on the type of room. People come from all over to see the scenery in this area.

We sincerely apologize that you felt a member of our staff was unfriendly. The experience you describe is very uncharacteristic of any of our employees. We get many comments complimenting our friendly and helpful staff. We are constantly striving to make each guest's visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We are saddened by the fact that you left here feeling disappointed. We have reminded each of our staff members how important our guests are to us and that we need to do all we can to make each one feel welcome.

We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area. Please contact me directly when your travel plans bring you back to this area and I would be delighted to help you with your reservations.


Sincerely,

Susan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I can not say enough on how much I enjoyed my stay at Boulder Mountain Lodge. Beautiful grounds, hospitable staff and awesome location for access to scenic drives, hiking and canyoneering. Coming from Pa this is my idyllic spot for adventure and relaxing. Not to mention one of the best restaurants in the country on premises. Yes, I said in the country meaning the United States. It may be pricey for some, but undeniably well worth it. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We read about BML on Tripadvisor and it lived up to it's billing. Lovely and relaxing, with the advantage of a 4 star restaurant. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was my first trip to Boulder and I loved it and the Boulder Mountain Lodge. The room was clean, quite and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. My wife and I loved everything about out visit, from the relaxing hot tub and stunning stars to the great food and the out of this world views. We have already made a reservation for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was our first visit to the area. So many people counseled us on where to go, things to do, places to stay and restaurants to visit. We chose Boulder Mountain Lodge and are very happy we did. We decided to take our dog with us since Boulder Mountain Lodge is pet-friendly.

We found the room to be spacious, spotless, and the bed exceedingly comfortable. The grounds were well kept and the lodges all appeared to be in excellent repair. Unlike our recent visit to Cozumel, the walls were "solid" and we never knew if we had neighbors. The nights were peaceful. Speaking of the nights, may I recommend getting up somewhere between 1-3 am (had to take the dog out for a "break") and look skyward. It has been a very long time since I've seen the Milky Way so clearly and literally 1000s of stars. Absolutely breathtaking.

Hell's Backbone Grill was a bit pricey it is true, but the food was superb. I had the bison tenderloin and my wife the Dutch-oven pot roast. Both dishes were quite tender and the vegetables were delicious. Abigail was our waitress and she did a perfect job of serving us. If someone goes to this restaurant expecting a fast food, fast delivery experience they will be disappointed. But if they spend the time talking with their spouse and enjoying the experience you will not be disappointed.

Be sure to visit Upper Calf Creek Falls as part of your time here. Go early, especially in July because by the time you come back the rocks will be like a griddle. A dip in the cool pools of the creek however are part of the reward, the vistas being another reward.

We look forward to finding a time when we can return with all our children, their spouses and the grandkids for a family getaway.

Additionally we enjoyed breakfast at the Boulder Mesa Grill next door to Boulder Mountain Lodge. Great "hand-formed" sausage patties!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Nice location in southern Utah but very overpriced. Rooms are average but nothing special. So-called "patios" for each room are just 2 chairs outside the front door to the room that overlook the parking lot in most cases. No pool which is tough in the heat of the summer. Overall it's a fine hotel but in no way is it worth the price! Go down the road and stay in Torrey where the view and the value is better. We have stayed at many places in southern Utah and this one really sticks out as not worth the money.

As a side note we ate at the hotel's "famed" restaurant' Hell's Backbone and found it to be pretty average and definitely overpriced ($23 for
average enchiladas!) Service was
unbelievably slow and inattentive and the patio overlooks a small pond that is teeming with mosquitos.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmlom, Manager at Boulder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
We are disappointed to learn that Boulder Mountain Lodge did not meet this guest’s expectations. We are, however, surprised to hear the concerns expressed in this review. Our rates are comparable to or lower than similar accommodations in Southern Utah. Our guests love our pond and bird sanctuary, and many people stay at the lodge just so they can eat at Hell’s Backbone Grill. The scenery in our area is spectacular and has recently been mentioned in Sunset magazine and New York Times. In May, NBC’s Today Show selected Scenic Byway 12 as one of its five “Great American Road Trips” because of the amazing scenery in the area. They mentioned the Boulder Mountain Lodge as “the” place to stay on Byway 12.

Boulder Mountain Lodge also has many more amenities than other properties in the area, including a hot tub, fire pit, bird sanctuary, pet friendly rooms, free DVD’s and games, guest area orientation, and business services. Our rooms feature plush robes, Aveda toiletries, free wifi, and refrigerators.

All of our rooms except one have decks or porches. Upstairs rooms all have decks with beautiful views. Our ground floor rooms have doors on both sides, one facing either our bird sanctuary or a picturesque valley with a slickrock mountain, and the other facing the parking lot (with great views beyond). There are chairs outside on both sides of the buildings so people can choose the view they would like when sitting outside. The lodge also has a two story common area with a fireplace downstairs, and a great view of the bird sanctuary upstairs. Outside the second floor there is a large balcony for everyone to enjoy.

Our eleven acre bird sanctuary draws many visitors to our lodge. Our guests enjoy watching the baby ducks and geese, yellow headed blackbirds, coots, and other wildlife. Anytime you have a body of water, there will be some mosquitoes around dusk this time of year. Because we had record breaking precipitation this spring, there were more mosquitoes than usual earlier this year. They are not nearly as bad as the guest describes.

The award winning restaurant on our grounds, "Hell's Backbone Grill," has been named by Salt Lake Magazine as "Best Restaurant In Southern Utah" for the last three years, and has been recommended by other publications such as Bon Appetit, Gourmet, and Sunset magazines. Because the restaurant is so popular, occasionally people arrive without dinner reservations. The staff at the restaurant does their best to accommodate people who travel for hours to eat there. Occasionally this may slow the service.

Again, we apologize that we did not meet this guest's expectations.

Boulder Mountain Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Address: 20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder Mountain Lodge is located in the middle of Utah’s scenic red rock canyon country. This nationally recognized luxury lodge provides everything for a fabulous getaway - spacious rooms, intimate ambiance, unparalleled views, fine dining, and an impressive array of services and amenities. There is not a better setting for your family vacation, meeting, reunion, or romantic getaway. The Lodge is the home of the award winning Hell's Backbone Grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Lodge Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.