We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is Boulder...UTAH?!?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulder Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Boulder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Where is Boulder...UTAH?!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have now stayed at the Lodge twice and cannot say enough wonderful things about it. The overall setting is peaceful and serene. The rooms are comfortable with plush bedding and towels. You are sure to get a good night of rest here!

If you don't think you will sleep visit the oversized hot tub for a bit and all your stress will melt away!

With Hell's Backbone Grill on the property you really can escape and enjoy the beauty of Boulder Mountain and the grounds at the Lodge.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room, but the main building where I have stayed is wonderful as the back upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    55
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
123
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is really the perfect place. A cozy lodge in a beautiful valley surrounded by a vast variety of activities ranging from leisure to hardcore adventure! The restaurant on site (Hell’s BackboneGrill; see separate review) is top notch. The rooms are clean and beyond adequate. Short of finding a Four Seasons this is absolutely the best you are going to find in a town with a population of 200. The staff is helpful, the grounds are beautiful, the wifi is free. Life is good. This is THE place to stay in the area. We stayed 3 nights in room 7.
Just down the road are hikes for Calf Creek Falls (upper and lower), The Escalante River (upper and lower), Hole in the Rock Road (Devil’s Garden, Spooky and Peek-a-boo Gulch, Etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed one night at BML. It was ok, it's rustic in style. The room layout was a little weird but it worked and was clean. We slept well in a comfortable bed and had no issues at all. There is a hot tub which we didn't try. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. We ate at the HBG for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Co
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Boulder Mountain Lodge a number of times. Each stay is peaceful and restoring. We especially enjoy having a room that overlooks the bird sanctuary. Everyone one is welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful area. Lots of hiking, fishing, exploring, or just enjoying the beautiful Highway 12 scenery. The hotel is in good shape and has a bit of a rustic feel to it. There are 3 restaurants on-site. 1 is basically a deli, 1 is basically your classic american food restaurant, and the 3rd is a fine dining restaurant. We ate at the Devil's Backbone grill (fine dining) and the food was excellent. My parents-in-law at the classic american food restaurant (I can't remember what it was called), and loved it. They ate there twice. The grounds are meticulously kept. There is a very large, well kept hot tub, and a common area in one of the lodges. The office has a bunch of outdoor games and toys available for visitors to use on their spacious grounds.

The rooms are fairly modern. We stayed in a ground floor room that had two queens, which are available to bring your pets to. We did not bring our dog but you could not detect any hint of animal hair, odor, or other pet-induce damage in our room. The beds were comfortable. If you've ever been to Moab, you will love this area because it has a lot of the scenery and things to do like Moab but none of the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had planned to visit Boulder Mountain Lodge (and Hell's Backbone Grill) several times, only to have to cancel. However, this spring we were fortunate to finally take the jaw-dropping, georgous drive thru Escalante to Boulder, Utah. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room bordering on the duck pond was spacious and quiet and there was plenty of outdoor areas to walk our golden. The meals at Hell's Backbone Grill were delicious and I've been keeping busy cooking up many of the recipes in featured in their book "With A Measure Of Grace". Jen, it was nice to meet you and Biscuit - thanks for autographing my book!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Boulder Mountain Lodge, and I couldn't be more positive! The staff were warm and friendly, the rooms were clean and beautiful. What a wonderful little oasis in the middle of the red rock desert! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the top floor. You don't want to miss the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Address: 20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Location: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder Mountain Lodge is located in the middle of Utah’s scenic red rock canyon country. This nationally recognized luxury lodge provides everything for a fabulous getaway - spacious rooms, intimate ambiance, unparalleled views, fine dining, and an impressive array of services and amenities. There is not a better setting for your family vacation, meeting, reunion, or romantic getaway. The Lodge is the home of the award winning Hell's Backbone Grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Lodge Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.