We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Steakhouse

Cottonwood Steakhouse
409 W Main St, Hwy 191, Bluff, UT 84512
435-672-2282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Bluff
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield. UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Food looked like a dog' s dinner but tasted fine. It was good to eat outside. It was a tad expensive, other American diners thought it was very pricey.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    104
    24
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Western themed restaurant with friendly Navajo staff. The food is barbecued outside by the chef and is delicious. I loved the brisket and sweet potatoes. You can keep your bandana style napkin as a souvenir.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm surprised that this place has gotten such good reviews. It's not horrible, but it's not good either. Since it seems to be one of the only restaurants in town, you're kind of stuck going to it if you're in Bluff.

My steak was pretty good, but the person I was with had a tough steak she had problems cutting. Additionally, they serve these disguing, inedible potatoes with every meal, rather than just serving your standard baked potatoe. They're these black overcooked potatoe pieces which are "flavored" with one of those flavorings-in-a-bottle --- the waitress/owner mentioned what it was flavored with; something crappy. On top of this, they serve your standard brown beans, which I didn't try, as I'm not a fan. There's not a vegetable in sight. They'd be better off serving frozen corn.

People seem to think their pies are homemade, so I decided to try the cheesecake, assuming that was as well. Well, now I wonder if any of the desserts are homemade, because the cheesecake was disgusting, and definitely wasn't homemade.

If you're expecting to get an authentic homecooked meal here, think again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cottonwod Steakhouse - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Cottonwood Steakhouse was a wonderful "find" in Bluff, Utah, south of Blanding. With friends we enjoyed prime rib and buffalo steaks, cold beer including microbrews, and homemade apple pie. The food, service, and ambiance were all excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“free bandana with dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our steaks and the hospitality of Cottonwood. It was a welcome respite after a very long river day and they were patient with our grubby appearance. The hours were extremely convenient and we were served quickly. Food was cooked very well on the steaks... a little dry on some of the barbeque chicken.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottonwood Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cottonwood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.