We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Recapture Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bluff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Recapture Lodge
Save
You added Recapture Lodge to your Saves list
U.S. 191, Box 309, 220 E. Main, Bluff, UT 84512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There are not many lodging options when visiting Monument Valley, but Recapture Lodge is a hidden gem. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was clean and comfortable and included a sitting room and kitchenette. Nothing fancy, but rather like staying at your grandparents' country house. The pool offered a respite from the heat and a continental breakfast provided an additional value. I would definitely recommend this property to others traveling through Southeastern Utah.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    117
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
112
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose to stay at Recapture Lodge because of the trails on the property. After a long day of driving, it was nice to get out of the car for an easy walk to the river, followed by a dip in the pool and hot tub. The rooms are basic and clean, but nothing special. Breakfast was cold cereal, toast, juice, and yogurt, so don't expect a hot breakfast. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The owner is the nicest guy and very helpful. We came in late with a group of 7. He did not have enough rooms for us so he rented us "Grandma's House" for a great price. Place was very clean and comfortable. Will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here as we mad the Great Circle (Arches, Canyonland, Grand Caynon). This place was very clean and unique. It is not the Sheraton but for a small town it is nice and the owner is a great host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

There is no other place to stay in Bluff. Well there is, but Recapture Lodge is the place to be, hands down. A great place to start exploring and adventuring the south east of Utah and beyond. Recapture sets the scene.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room right at the end so you will get less foot traffic going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were traveling through Bluff, Utah and had our dog with us. This is a pet friendly hotel.
The hotel is a bit dated, but was clean and the owner was very nice and helpful.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the same direction and sit away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night at Recaputure Lodge but could easily have spent longer if we had had the time. There is the swimming pool to enjoy at the end of a long day. Our room on the ground floor had all the facilities we required, kitchen, fridge etc. so we bought some food and ate in. The aircon system was great, no noise, so we had a very comfortable night. Don't hesitate to book Recapture Lodge because of some negative comments, sure it is an older style motel but the prices are good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Recapture Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recapture Lodge

Address: U.S. 191, Box 309, 220 E. Main, Bluff, UT 84512
Location: United States > Utah > Bluff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Recapture Hotel Bluff
Recapture Lodge Bluff, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Recapture Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.