We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge by the outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Lizard Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Lizard Lodging to your Saves list
Stone Lizard Lodging
88 West Center, Blanding, UT 84511 (Formerly Blanding Sunset Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
nj
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nicely redecorated and upgraded old motel.
Owners very nice, rooms clean with fridge and microwave. The only problem is no breakfast. Not even McD or Dunkins. On Sunday only option is the gas station convenience store. Other days there is a cafe in town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    70
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
85
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the two room executive suite as there were three of us travelling. The owner is very friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the Blanding/Bluff area. We stayed in Blanding to visit Natural Bridges and the Mule Canyon ruins and would have loved to stay longer. The twin room unit had a kitchenette and a lounge and was very clean. It truly was like a home away from home. If/When I return to the Cedar Mesa area I will be staying here again. Thanks Stone Lizard Lodging!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summersville,wv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The owner of The Stone Lizard is to be praised! We had reservations for 3 days, but had to leave early. Mr.Simpson could have refused us a refund, but on the contrary. He could not have been any nicer. He even offered us helpful traveling suggestions. The rooms there are clean and well equipped. If you are ever in Blanding Utah, you may want to consider The Stone Lizard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Arch's Nat'l Park from Tempe, AZ and then after Arch's were on our way to Denver for a family wedding. Back to the Stone Lizard I booked this motel cause of all the great reviews on TA. and the great photo's to go with the reviews. The pictures are spot on we stayed in room 14 which was a bit of upgrade. We had a comfy king bed and a small kitchen area with stove, small frig, micro, coffee pot, untensils. We could have cooked dinner in there if I wanted to, but we went to dinner at the Homestead Steakhouse which was recommended from the owner who is very nice and very friendly by the way. Our room had a great bathroom I thought it was pretty big shower was fine everything was just wonderful. I loved staying the night there and wished I could of stayed another night. When we go through Blanding again on our way to Denver I'm staying here again for sure! Oh, we ate breakfast at a little cafe outside of town or on the way out it was also really good. The steakhouse was okay mine which was a NY steak was cooked great my husband had the ribeye and his was overcooked. But this review is about the Stone Lizard which is above and beyond the best in the area!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The price is right. Granted, this is a very old property on the outside, but it has been nicely updated throughout. The room was nicely decorated. It had a cozy electric fireplace, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. There's a great wifi and, of course, tv. But who goes to that part of the country to hang out and watch TV?

This is an excellent launching spot for a trip to Monument Valley, Mesa Verde and Hovenweep. The owner checked me in. Nice guy! Clean, comfortable and quiet. This was a real value. My Harley riding buddies and I will be back. This is my new favorite spot in San Juan county.

Did I mention that the bed was awesome?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a nice but very brief stay (arrived late and had to leave early). In the short time we were there we were happy. The bed was comfy and the room was clean with a nice artificial wood fire. Wireless was good and we got friendly advice about where to eat and visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed here one night while driving between grand canyon and bryce national park. the place has been recently redone and looks great. it was so clean and comfy. the bed was AWESOME and we had such a good sleep. the price is also right!!!
really nice couple owners as well!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Lizard Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Lizard Lodging

Address: 88 West Center, Blanding, UT 84511 (Formerly Blanding Sunset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1940's, and Blanding's first motel, our quiet, restful, home-like adobe lodging is located in the heart of downtown Blanding. Lodging consists of seventeen cozy guestrooms each furnished with cable TV, free high speed wifi, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Our family suite boasts three bedrooms, a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen with a commercial stove and oven; sleeps 11 adults comfortably. One two-bedroom executive suite with full kitchen is also available. Our recently remodeled Queen kitchenette with flat screen television is a home away from home. This is a smoke-free property. Situated in the midst of the four corners are Canyonlands, Arches, Mesa Verde, Natural Bridges, Goosenecks, Lake Powell and Monument Valley within a two hour drive from Blanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Lizard Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Lizard Lodging Blanding, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Lizard Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.