We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than just Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Steak House

Homestead Steak House
121 E Center St, Blanding, UT 84511-2922
435-678-3456
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Blanding
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worse than just Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I knew that as much as I travel the United States in my work I would sooner or later come across the WORSE steak house in this country and tonight I did. Do not waste time eating at this place. I ordered a 14 oz Ribeye Steak for $19.99, I ordered in Mid Rare, the cook charbroiled it on one side but because it was cut so thin, he could not flip it over to cook it because it would have come to me as Well Done, so they served it to me coated in pepper and only cooked on one side, the other side was refrigerator cold. When I asked for it to be cooked on both sides the cook burned the heck out of it then served me a more than well done steak when I had ordered a mid rare steak. It was tougher than the leather on the bottom of my boots. To make me feel good about a burnt steak they dumped a pile of Squash/Carrots and Raw Mushrooms on my plate. This is one customer that will never go back, 10 people in this place and I was the only stupid one there that ordered a steak in a steakhouse. They all laughed at me when they saw what I had ordered.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon G, Owner at Homestead Steak House, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal. I am holding your canceled ticket. It shows that you ordered a 10 oz. ribeye not a 14 oz,, medium rare with baked potato and sautéed fresh vegetable medley. I spoke with the cook and the waitress to get a better idea of what happened. He had originally cooked it to medium rare as requested but you wanted it cooked more. He then cooked it to medium and sent it back. We do try hard to cook our steaks as requested. We serve Choice Angus aged Beef, hand cut and cook them on a flame grill to impart flavor. Our vegetable medley consists of fresh broccoli, yellow squash, mushrooms, and carrots. They are cooked together until the broccoli is cooked but not over cooked. The mushrooms would have been cooked at the same time. Again not over cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    76
    57
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, basic meal here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good food here, in a town with few non-fastfood Our meal was fine though the menu was not exciting. No alcohol served.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in Blanding doing some touring while the parks were closed (Thank you Congress). The night we were at Homestead for dinner, the two waitresses were overwhelmed..and apparently so was the kitchen. they were out of a number of items, including baked potatoes. We found a couple of things to order after waiting quite awhile. The food was average and and mine was a little on the cold side, which made the trout a little fishy.

My advice, if the place is packed try somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have picked the beef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The mashed potatoes tasted instant, and the Chicken Fried Chicken and potatoes almost had more gravy than food. Ask for the gravy on the side unless you really like gravy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“short staffed, long waits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This little place has good food if you can get waited on. The homemade raspberry jam with the biscuits is simply DELISH if you get them. I have been in both for lunch and dinner as I am in the area frequently. The food has been good both times and the service is really friendly, just overwhelmed. This is not the place to stop if you want to get in and get out because good food takes time and they appear to be chronically understaffed in the service department.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.