We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Desert Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added High Desert Lodge to your Saves list
High Desert Lodge
605 S Independence Drive, Big Water, UT 84741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We drove here late in the evening in pitch dark. Almost missed it! We were nicely welcomed and showed to our 'cowboy' room. It's a very quiet area, great night sleep. Great feeling of being in middle of nowhere in pitchdark.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is the experience that counts, its out there in the middle of nowhere. There are mountains right behind you, you park your car in the dirt, you receive a warm welcome even when you arrive post midnight and can make yourself hot chocolate in the morning. The room is tiny for 3 people and bed was rickety. The room was quirky and the bathroom creaked but we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My family and i enjoyed our stay at the lodge. We liked the location, the cleanliness of the rooms. What we even more enjoyed was Sam's and Nicole's hospitality. They have been extremely careful and they have always been here to answer our questions and to help us with everything we needed.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed 2 nights here because of the price mainly (so expensive to sleep in Page) and I really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and the bed so comfortable ! Add to that it's a very quiet place and you'll sleep very well. Microwave, fridge and free coffee (or tea) in the hall. I spent 2 very good nights there for a very cheap price, it's really value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you love adventure, then this is the place to be. Just minutes from the amazing Lone Rock Beach, settled in quiet Big Water, Utah. This place has it all! Bring your atv to ride around the local trails, bring your boots to hike through the canyon out back, and bring your 4x4 to drive through the scenic route through the untouched beauty of Glen Canyon. There are even horses out back in the rodeo ring! Plenty of parking for your rv or boat. There is also an awesome cookout area for family bbqs with a grill, tables, and chairs all ready to go. This is a laid back, quiet place, good for families, couples, and solo travelers. Definitely the place to be to get a good night's rest after a long day on the water or out hiking. Billie and Tom are locals and they can tell you about all the amazing sights and scenery around, off the beaten path trails, and provide some good Southern Utah hospitality. Make this the go to place to come when visiting the Lake Powell area, less than 20 minutes to the town of Page and about an hour away from Kanab, this centralized location is awesome!

Room Tip: looking to stay a little longer than just a day or two?? ask Billie and Tom about their weekly/month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the website and other reviews, this place looked quite okax so we decided to book a room (when we arrived it seemed to be clear that we had booked two, which made the whole stay a bit pricey) for our detour to Lake Powell. I am always ready to cut people some slack so maybe we just came on a bad day, but anyway... the rooms were smelly, the kids' room just had a curtain between bedroom and bathroom, ours didn't even have the curtain. Smelly shower and towels. Dead spiders on the window sill. You could look outside through the cracks where the A/C unit had been put. Carpet had not been vacuumed since I do not know when, so I preferred to keep my flip flops on. No TV, beds were not made. We hardly saw staff members but it did not really seem like the "people business" pros we had expected. There are lots of motels in Page, just some miles away, that would have probably been cheaper and cleaner - this is basic stuff that cannot be compensated with cute cowboy-themed decoration. As for having "upgraded several features in the building" as stated on web site, this just makes me wonder how this place must have been before.

Room Tip: Check for cracks in doors and around A/C, make sure there is a curtain between bathroom and bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here because the only rooms available in Page were booked or about 2 times as expensive. The beds were super comfortable. The room, including the bathroom, was immaculate. The owners were very friendly. The shower was hot and had great pressure. They had coffee and a microwave in the lobby. They also had ice available which helped for packing our ice chest. It's just a few minutes from Lake Powell. They have nice tvs available upon request, and the owner said they are working towards getting one for every room. The views are very nice, and there's some great photo ops within a short walk behind the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Lodge

Address: 605 S Independence Drive, Big Water, UT 84741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Big Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have over 25 unique themed rooms inspired by everything cowboy! In addition, we offer apartment-style rooms with kitchenettes to accommodate longer stays.Big Water is the center of Canyon Country - boasting the closeness of a couple of minutes from Lake Powell, Antelope Slot Canyon, Horseshoe Bend and a couple of hours of the National Parks & Recreation centers such as Bryce, Zion, Grand Canyon, and Monument Valley. The Escalante Grand Staircase is located just inside the city leading to many fantastic hiking trails and slot canyons waiting to be explored. Big Water has many boat rental companies, ATV rentals, horseback riding and the charm of being off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Lodge Utah/Big Water

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Desert Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.