We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - unprofessional staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6003 Woodway Dr, Woodway, TX 76712   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel - unprofessional staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at the La Quinta Hotel in Woodway (Waco, TX) this past weekend. My family had stayed there once before and we were all really impressed with the place. (In fact, we've also stayed at the Hilton downtown and we were more impressed with this La Quinta because it's a newer building with modern decor and the amenities are better.) Well, that's changed now. In fact, we won't be staying at the Woodway La Quinta ever again. And since we travel to Waco regularly, this means that this La Quinta has just lost returning customers - which means missing out on thousands of dollars in future revenue.

First thing in the morning on Sunday 5/29/2011, I was at the crowded breakfast bar putting food on my plate. A member of staff came up behind me and loudly and aggressively lectured me on how I SHOULD be putting the food on my plate. Why me? The breakfast area was full of people and I'm sure not all of them were experts at piling food on to their plates.

If this member of staff had any warmth or sense of humor about the whole thing, I wouldn't have minded. But she didn't - I got lectured. And I did not pay $100+ a night to get a lecture. It was completely unnecessary, and that has never happened to me at any hotel I've stayed at worldwide - and I've travelled a lot.

If it was so important to her, maybe she should have been serving the food to each guest herself? Oh no, that's right - she wouldn't have had time to do that because she had to go through the door behind the breakfast bar and loudly gossip in Spanish with her friend. She might want to remember that some guests speak Spanish too. Not professional.

Later I went to the front desk to ask for a comment card. I was told there were none. Just like, apparently, there are no DO NOT DISTURB signs for any of the hotel room doors. What quality hotel doesn't have these things? For a hotel charging as much as it does, these things should be common courtesies.

When we came down to check out, no one was at the front desk. We waited there for a while and heard a loud cackle emanate from the general vicinity of the breakfast area. Then a guy came to the front desk in a leisurely fashion, glanced at our bill and said that we were already checked out and could go.

Look - I know sometimes people don't want to be at work and they resent customers. I've worked in customer service for years, so I can empathize. But openly showing one's hostility or apathy is not the best way to get the job done. It can alienate customers, who can and will go with a competing brand.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
97
31
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The staff here is extremely helpful, and even remembered me from when I stayed there a year before. I travel with my dog, and this hotel is ideal for him and me. Clean, good breakfast, often with a free happy hour in the evenings. A very top La Quinta!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applescruff1981
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed here for one night as I was participating in the March of Dimes the next morning, as well as visiting friends in the area. Everything was very clean, and the fellow at the desk was friendly. The room was spotless and breakfast was very good and fulfilling. I really enjoyed their eggs! It is on the outskirts, so much as anything in Waco can be on the outskirts, but close to a shopping mall and lots of restaraunts, and right off a major freeway but not noisy at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed here for one night while traveling for business. I was a repeat guest as I have stayed here before, but did not review the the hotel last time.

Pro's- Very clean and comfortable place to stay.

Con's-Everything seemed up to par as far as cleanliness and amenities. However, I did have a bad experience with the maid staff which I hope has been resolved for future travelers..otherwise, no con's.
(I requested late check out with the evening staff due to a early business meeting and the desk said it would not be a problem. The next day, after getting up extremely early, I had some time to lay down and rest before traveling again. Around "normal checkout time" the maid knocked at the door. I answered the door and the maid seemed quite upset I was not gone. I told her I had requested late check out and she said it was not noted. I laid down again figuring I could squeeze in a power nap, but fifteen minutes later, I was woke up by extreme knocking. When I answered this time it was the maid again and she asked why I had not gone. I called the front desk what was going on and they said they had my late check out noted and apologized for the persistent maid. Out of frustration, I got dressed and left.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel, it is new facility with womderful staff. Everyone was helpful, tis rooms are large and gym is great. The wifi is a little slow

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hotel is a find! Friendly front desk staff, good breakfast, and most importantly, quiet and comfortable rooms! This hotel is less than 2 years old and it looks like it. The bed had a wonderful mattress, everything was clean and comfortable. Best of all, if you are traveling with your pet, they do not charge extra. They do ask that you sign a form agreeing to pay up to $250 in damages if your pet trashes the room. That seemed fair to me as the same policy applies to people who smoke in the room (another plus, a totally non-smoking hotel). Two thumbs way up!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javera1961, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay a success! We're proud of our hotel and try hard to make all our guest feel like guests in our own home. Please come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed here with my sister while visiting an aged Aunt I travel a reasonable amount and generally stay in the upper chain hotels I chose to stay here because of the close vicinity to my Aunt and was not disappointed I have never experienced the type of service and attitude which we got from here! A social thank you to Maurice and Rosea for all your directions! You kept us from going around in a circle! We were greeted with smiles and "how was your dinner, visit etc" upon returning from time out What a refreshing experience to see people actually enjoying their job
Because of this experience the La Quinta chain will be my choice in the future

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javera1961, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review! It's nice to know what we're doing right and where we can make improvements. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope too see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South

Address: 6003 Woodway Dr, Woodway, TX 76712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Woodway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between providence hospital, Hillcrest hospital and Veterans hospital. All rooms are spacious with upscale decor to accommodate business and leisure guest from Baylor University and Waco Business Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Woodway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodway - Waco South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.