We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob's Well Natural Area

Jacob's Well Natural Area
1699 Mt. Sharp Rd, Wimberley, TX 78676
512-847-2140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Wimberley
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Took the kids for a viewing, Jumped off the cliff into the well. A lot of moss in the water that day but still clear. Fun. Not a long walk. A fair amount of college kids were hanging around. We saw some divers getting ready to go into the caves....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Geologic Treasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

How often in life will you get opportunity to see nature in action -- an artesian spring that feeds Cypress Creek and Blue Hole, as well as one of the longest underwater caves in Texas. My husband and I made the 4 1/2 mile drive over after spending a lazy morning/afternoon at Blue Hole. The folks at Blue Hole will even supply you with directions to get here.

Since we had already been swimming, we decided to take the short stroll down from the parking area and take a few pictures. A fun spot, clearly a favorite with the local teen population, where you can enjoy a nice refreshing dip in spring fed waters and take a dive into the well if you bring along a mask and flippers. The well is 24 feet deep, the underwater caves another 250+ feet long horizontally. No scuba allowed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

beautiful, bit of a walk, but worth it. not a huge area but you can tote a cooler down the path and have some snacks and spend the day there, there are no lifegaurds on duty

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Jacob's Well yesterday and we were a little disappointed. The area was hard to find without a GPS and help from a local. Once you park in the parking lot you have to walk a little ways and there weren't any signs that we saw saying which way to go. We followed some fellow swimmers thankfully. The well was a lot smaller than I had envisioned. It's approximately 12 feet wide and there was a small area to the right that was more shallow for younger children. There was a wooden plank leading the way to the actual swimming hole. The water was clear in the well and very cold. There were large boulders and young teens and older children were jumping off on them regardless of the sign that said "Danger, this rock is moving. Do not stand on or under and no jumping." We felt quite nervous every time we saw someone jump off of the rocks. Not for ourselves but for their safety. I understnd it's quite the place for locals to hang out and swim in but it wasn't a place that I would feel comfortable swimming in. We were glad we experienced it but once was enough for us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool water in beautiful backdrop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place to cool down on a hot summer day. Access/capacity is limited and signage is horrible so best to talk with folks before getting there and on arrival to get around, especially if you need to get behind the well due to limited capacity in front of it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob's Well Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Jacob's Well Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob's Well Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.