We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than others say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milagro's Hill Country Tex-Mex

Milagro's Hill Country Tex-Mex
9595 Ranch Road 12, Ste 12, Wimberley, TX 78676-5248
512-842-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Wimberley
Cuisines: American
Description: (512) 842-2800
Restaurant details
Description: (512) 842-2800
Bozeman, MT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Much better than others say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am not sure why this place has some bad reviews. Almost scared us away but it looked nice so we stopped. Very nice place appearance-wise. Maybe close to the road for perfection but a good 300 yards away. Waitress was friendly. Prices very reasonable. Beer selection fine. Food was fine too. Not remarkable but certainly good enough Tex-Mex. Seemed clean too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Take it all in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Milagros has improved dramatically over the years. If you are in wimberly I would suggest eating there and here's why. The food is good, the service Is good, and the ambiance outside is good. In Wimberly restaurants can be hit or miss. This one hits on a consistent basis. The green sauce the serve with tortilla chips is great. The fajita chimichanga is great and the chile relleno is great. Most everything else is good. Try the micro brewery next door and you have a fun experience. Well be back to Milagros .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Flavorless, tasteless, or way to spicy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

food not that tasty. I visited one year when Gov. Perry's wife was there giving a speech, the food that day was fantastic, not since then.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad, Bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The food is horrible and the restaurant is falling apart. The fajitas were recommended by a friend. I thought they were really pathetic. You can chew the beef for an hour and still you aren't ready to swallow. They claim Mexican fare. If you like Mexican food from an institution you will not be disappointed here. I recommend frozen Stouffer's Mexican food above this. Enough said...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Milagro's- with an emphasis on "gross"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I'm not sure if we're just spoiled with good Mexican food in Dallas, but Milagro's was a terrible Tex Mex experience. My husband and I were in Wimberley celebrating our Anniversary and decided to spend our last night, Saturday night, at Milagro's for dinner. Our first clue should have been that it was Saturday night and the place was fairly empty.

First things first, we received our menus. Now, I've never understood the importance of wiping off menus at restaurants until now. Both of our menus were FILTHY and I mean filthy. Food was all over them. Gross.

Then the waitress served us chips and salsa- two salsas, one red and one green cream. The green cream salsa was extremely watery and we couldn't even tell what it was supposed to be.

I decided to order a frozen margarita. Pretty typical, out of a machine frozen drink with no tasting of tequila in it.

My husband ordered the Chicken Fajitas and I ordered the Chicken Fajita Salad. The fajita meat on both of our dishes was extremely overcooked and pretty gross. The rice that came with the fajitas barely resembled rice. On my salad, half of the tortilla strips on top were soggy the other half crispy. I suspect they had the salad ready-made in the back and just threw chicken on top when it came out.

Overall it was a gross experience and I'm sad we wasted our last night's dinner at Mila-GROSS. It's a shame because this place has great potential- given that the views and patio are beautiful- but the food and cleanliness will keep people away!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milagro's Hill Country Tex-Mex also viewed

 

Been to Milagro's Hill Country Tex-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milagro's Hill Country Tex-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.