We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmarish visit to the Lodge at Cypress Falls, Wimberley TX” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Cypress Falls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
Save
You added The Lodge at Cypress Falls to your Saves list
1 Woodcreek Circle, Wimberley, TX 78676   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Wimberley B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Nightmarish visit to the Lodge at Cypress Falls, Wimberley TX”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Avoid the Lodge at Cypress Falls, Wimberley TX. This place was horrible.

Desk personnel rude and inept. Rooms were cramped, beds hard, furniture rickety and falling apart. Mold in the bathrooms. Pool was green with algae. Parking area undefined. Never could connect to the internet.

Security nonexistent. Partying in the hallway and outside. Vandalism to a guest vehicle.

Also, the brochure was extremely deceptive. It shows beautiful water scene, however multiple apartment buildings block the view of the creek. Unable to find the advertized “swimming hole” or “waterfront café” on site. The internet information was just as misleading. The experience was a horrendous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAN MARCOS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010 via mobile

Nice home away from home feel. They really made it a relaxed weekend. Hanging out by the pool and the falls was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The owners and the folks that run the place are so greedy I can't believe it. They had me park my $50,000 truck and trailer , with 3 Harleys . We came to ride in the hill country.
Off to the side and charged me $100.00 a day to do so. I couldn't believe it. And got yelled at by some brother in law who runs the grounds. I paid the money just to keep the peace and believed that they would come to their senses and reimburse me later. No such luck.
I even called the local law and they came out. I wanted to just park my truck and trailer under the large oak trees away from everybody. But oh no that's their property also. It was a giant mistake to come to The Lodge. You reap what you sow , and I know they are sowing a whirlwind.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Since I was in town for both family business and leisure, knowing I would have evenings alone in the hotel, I asked about amenities before making reservations. Their cable reception was terrible and the TVs in the rooms were old and small. The furniture, while quaint was broken. There were no phones or internet availability. The heat/cooling controls are not in individual rooms and one I had to go in person to the front desk in the middle of the night to ask them to turn down the air conditioning. There were absolutely no other amenities such as hairdryer, iron, fridge, microwave nor outlets in the bathroom. It's in the middle of nowhere so there are no eateries nearby (walking distance), though they did offer coffee and muffins in the morning.

The staff was very nice and tried to accommodate me, but it appears that they just don't cater to those who may be spending much time alone at their lodge or who are used to "regular" hotel amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

What a treat. The Lodge at Cypress Falls is a welcome addition to the lodging options in Wimberley. More than a hotel, this property features the welcoming atmosphere of a bed and breakfast with the inclusiveness of a resort. We stayed with our young daughter and were pleasantly surprised by the staff and their attitude.
The property has been recently renovated and I'm looking forward to staying there again. With two pools, shuffleboard, fishing and frolicking in Cypress Creek, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better location to base your getaway to Wimberley.
The cafe near the creek is not to be missed, whether for a relaxing afternoon of feeding the ducks or a great burger for lunch.

  • Liked — Welcoming staff, great location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We decided to have our family reunion at The Lodge at Cypress Falls in Wimberley, Tx. It was a great central location for our family, as we are spread all over Texas. The Lodge has 20something rooms and we were able to rent the entire place out, making it very comfortable for the whole group. The kids entertained themselves for 3 days: swimming in the pool (and baby pool), swimming in Cypress Creek, chasing ducks around, playing tennis, horseshoes, shuffle board and volleyball. We adults had plenty of places to gather when not partaking in the "action". The swimming hole also had a cafe, which we ate at for lunch and dinner. There was a covered area where we could watch the kids splash around from the shade. We didn't know if there would be an area for our kids to ride bikes but The Lodge was situated in the neighborhood of Woodcreek which was very kid friendly. The rooms were clean and the continental breakfast had more to offer than the norm. I would definitely recommend this place for your next family reunion or gathering.

  • Liked — All of the outdoor activities available/customer service
  • Disliked — A little hard to find without proper directions.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Cypress Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Cypress Falls

Address: 1 Woodcreek Circle, Wimberley, TX 78676
Location: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the centerpiece of an active resort community, the lodge is back! The new owners have carefully remodeled the facility with care and attention to its historic significance to the community. With 22 rooms, including one handicap accessible suite, the lodge offers great customer service and a variety of amenities for every guest. The rock walls in each room and metal roof give the lodging a special hill country flare. From the peaceful flow of the creek, to the historic Eagle Rock, we're sure that your stay with us will be both memorable and enjoyable for the whole group. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Cypress Falls Hotel Wimberley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Cypress Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.