We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for atmosphere & Eat somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Leaning Pear

The Leaning Pear
111 River Rd, Wimberley, TX 78676-5167
512-847-7327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Wimberley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for atmosphere & Eat somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife & I ate there because it was rated #1 on Tripadvisor. We strongly suspect they stuffed their own ballot box. ie: soup slightly warm; salad made up of 95% lettuce & no discernible dressing; Reuben was tough, stringy and tasted strange. I couldn't finish my meal & left feeling like they had the typical "come for the impression & don't worry about the food". We really didn't get either - acoustics bad & can't hear over the echoes. Almost anywhere in Wimberley would be a better choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    69
    28
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“If you ever have a chance to order The chicken pot pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

DO It!!
Quality! Quality!! Quality
Ingredients! With the MOST
amazing flaking puff crust topping!
Ordered it to go,
Quickly came home to gobble UP what gasto-unbelievable yum that I KNEW was in my hands!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Wimberley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have eaten many different meals here, the food is always superb. Matthew makes wonderful soups and the daily special is unusual and fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Food, service, setting. Great all around experience at unexpectedly reasonable prices. We will definitely make this a priority stop for our next Hill Country trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Planned to meet family in Wimberley for lunch and on reviewing trip advisor decided on this venue. Arrived early as did our guests so had plenty of time to take in the view on a very pleasant Texas spring day. Restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating but even then you have a choice. You can sit inside the main restaurant or in an enclosed area that is either a screened in area or one with plastic windows. You can sit outside in the open air or on a covered porch. We picked the covered porch all areas have a view of a tree covered park area going down to a stream. The menu is interesting and we can understand why it wouldn't appeal to everyone but it had plenty to please our group. Two had the Ruben and both thought it excellent, one had the tuna and also enjoyed it the other had a BBLT that's Brie, Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato. The last one was good but not as much as the others. Two also had the Roasted Red Pepper/Corn soup and rate it excellent. Service was excellent and attentive while the view was very nice and quiet. Price for two was $22. Highly recommend this place for lunch especially if you can sit outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leaning Pear also viewed

 

Been to The Leaning Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leaning Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.