We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and bisquits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Great Country Cafe and Pie Pantry

Texas Great Country Cafe and Pie Pantry
903 S Bosque St, Ste F, Whitney, TX 76692-4002
+1 254-694-3608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Whitney
Price range: $0 - $10
Description: Locally owned and operated by Mother/Daughter team, Judy and Chrystal. Great southern, "comfort", food with a little modern flare. Don't forget to check out our in-house bakery with Cakes, Pies, Cobblers, Breads etc.
Restaurant details
Description: Locally owned and operated by Mother/Daughter team, Judy and Chrystal. Great southern, "comfort", food with a little modern flare. Don't forget to check out our in-house bakery with Cakes, Pies, Cobblers, Breads etc.
Kempner, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and bisquits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are in Whitney I would recommend this local crowd restaurant. Cost was about $16 for two including drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a place I choose to visit often ..... u may hear different from some but I'm honest 100%”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Prices way to high for average food u can get at home!!!! I'm not one to say negative things but I had a problem with my food and some supposed kitchen manager named donna was so rude I will never return ...... she was hateful made me not even want my grandparents to ever go again .... and my grandparents and their friends recommended it but after what was said to me I know they will start eating elsewhere maybe skillits

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good variety and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We visit here a lot on Sundays for lunch after church and there is usually a special. We have always had good food and service. We have tried many different dishes and not been disappointed. I don't know what their speciality is but go try it yourself and decide!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Better Service This Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I reviewed this cafe in March 2013. We returned recently and were pleased with better service; our waitress checked on us from time to time, refilled our beverages, took away plates, offered dessert. Maybe management got the word, so that is great. We both had the grilled chicken plate, very nice. Their business is brisk and i feel they are doing a better job tending to their customers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Whitney and want a good place to eat, look no more. The staff is super nice and the food was great. I had the chicken fried steak breakfast and others at my table had eggs, pancakes, bacon, etc. All of it was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Great Country Cafe and Pie Pantry also viewed

 

Been to Texas Great Country Cafe and Pie Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Great Country Cafe and Pie Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.