We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom Fazio would not be happy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club
180 Freeman Blvd, West Columbia, TX 77486   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in West Columbia
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tom Fazio would not be happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed on a Groupon deal. The cottage we stayed in was renovated and was very nice. The golf course has definitely seen better days. The trees on the course were beautiful and the layout was nice. The resort just doesn't have the revenue stream to keep up the maintenance needed. It was good for the price we paid but I doubt I would pay full price

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    2
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Recenlty visited this "Resort' and indeed this golf course and facility is a pitiful shame. The course has not been mowed in a while and is obvious that the grounds people and the owner are not concerned about the appearance of this once beautiful place. There are some beautiful framed photos of this club 20 years ago framed outside the ladies locker room and it was absolutey gorgeous. The obvious overgrowth is not because of the recent rain as we were told. It takes weeks for this type of overgrowth to occur. The greens are impossible to putt of off and be aware of the fire ant piles along the golf course. Saying there are at least 40-50 piles per fairway is being generous. When we checked in at the pro shop, we asked for a course layout and any tips we needed to know of and were told" No, nothing we need to tell you about". The driving range was under water and again had not been mowed in weeks. The cottages that we stayed in, newly renovated, were nice. Our master bedroom did not have a remote for the TV and the front desk said that " There used to be a box of these for situations like this and it has come up missing too". The best thing about this facility was the breakfast at Mulligans--the lady cooking there was great and very friendly. The website for this facility is in no way accurate about their current facility and especially their golf course. Do not pay any money to go here. It is a waste of time. Pay $15 to go to a public course instead. At least the greens would be puttable and the ant piles would be to a minimum!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Columbia hotels

Missouri City, Texas
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I recently stayed at the Resort and found that everything was not what it appeared to be. We were promised things that still were not quite right. The rooms we were placed in were in much need of renovation. The mini refridgerators were only big enough to hold very small drinks. The patio doors could not open properly. The restrooms and toilets were in need of upgrades. The phones did not work and their was no ice available. There were not enough towels for the number of people housed per room, and some of the houses experienced air conditioning problems. My overall experience was not what I expected, however, the staff that was present tried to make us as comfortable as possible except for the maintenance man. The room pictured here on this page is not what I are anyone with me received. I would not recommend this place unless upgrades and changes are made. The conference room we were placed in smelled of smoke and the carpet was a hazard. The tables were not properly skirted and we had to find someone to assist us with that before we could start our program. The food was on an average level as for as taste goes, however, the wait staff was very pleasant. The location of the resort was in a great spot, however, much work is needed if they want repeat customers for the prices they are charging.

Room Tip: Check the beds and bathrooms too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Guest Relations Manager at Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your honesty and feedback. Your comments and concerns are very important to us and we will use this to help make improvements with our property. We apologize for your bad experience and we look forward to serving you better in the future. Feel free to email me @ ksmith@columbialakesgolf.com. with any further questions or concerns and I will be more than happy to help. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I must say in the room that I stayed in the paint was chiped so bad on the toilet seat sitting down was not an option. The phone did not work and the person that came by to fix it stated that he could not get it to work but we all should have cell phone so we were good. We were told that breakfast would be a 7:00am and when we got to breakfast at 7:20am no food was out and there was a bit of a wait not sure why that was and once the food was out the food was cold I had to ask the server to please heat up my plate. The room conference room smelled of smoke. The place looks very old and run down

Room Tip: upgrade and remodel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Guest Relations Manager at Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your input. It is because of our customers who are willing to inform us of their experience that we are able to improve quality and service. Your comments are taken seriously and will be utilized to help improve our property. Our customers feedback is important to us, we look forward to serving you in the future with progress from your last stay.
Kimberly Smith :-)
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My family stayed in a different cottage this time on the golf course and had a great view of the lagoon from the back porch. (#24) The renovations are terrific and first class. Flat screen TVs - some bedrooms have them too. The food at Mulligan's (snack shop) - breakfast, lunch and dinner is really good. Inside the clubhouse, a more upscale menu is just as good. They seem to stay busy with metting luncheons, etc.

The golf course has greened up nicely now that rain has occured recently - and really in good shape. Sand traps smooth, etc. Good place for everyone to hang out - and only 30 minutes from the beach, if desired.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Guest Relations Manager at Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate all reviews we receive for our property as each one helps make us better. Moving forward we hope to serve you even better than your most recent visit. Our goal is Quality Customer Service, and we are well on our way. If you have any further comments or questions for our facility, feel free to contact me at ksmith@columbialakesgolf.com and I will be more than happy to help. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I'm here at Columbia Lakes and Resort and its GREAT!!! I enjoy the service and the food is AWESOME...Everyone is soooo friendly!!!

I have to give this place a 5Star!!!!!

Room Tip: The cottages are clean and quiet...they are sooooo personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My in laws came to visit and booked a room in the city of West Columbia (not sure exactly where, but there aren't many) and hated it. We suggested canceling and coming to Columbia Lakes to the cottages. We knew they had renovated the rooms, and we were not dissappointed! The cottages were great! Like a home away from home. Living room, litchen, and 2 full bedrooms each with its own bath! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club

Address: 180 Freeman Blvd, West Columbia, TX 77486
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > West Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Lakes Resort And Country Club Hotel West Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Lakes Resort and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.