We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kolaches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Czech Stop

The Czech Stop
105 N. College St., I-35 exit 353, West, TX 76691
(254) 826-4170
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in West
Cuisines: Czech
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Kolaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stopped by there on a road trip and bought sandwiches for dinner and kolaches for breakfast the next morning. I ordered the Cheesesteak which was big enough for two meals. The kolaches were excellent even two days later...

They were extremely busy, but the service was friendly and the line moved quickly. This is really a bakery and a convenience store, so not really a restaurant. There is very limited seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    38
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Polka music and carbs - yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Must stop on I-35 between Dallas and Austin. Favorite kolaches (bread roll with filling) Sausage and sauerkraut, breakfast sausage and cheese, all of the fruit and cream cheese ones. The rest of the deli food is good too. If you are traveling across the U.S., you should buy a bumper sticker that says "Jak se mas" (pardon my spelling) which means "how are you?" in Czech. The left side of the store is the same as the right, so take your pick if the line is long on one side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A good place to stop to buy a snack and gas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stopped at the Czech Stop many times. My wife and I enjoy the kolache's of various flavors. Our favorite is the cream cheese kolache. Be careful to not buy too much since it does not do well over time. It is best eaten very soon after purchase.
Although we always enjoy the goodies on the road, I have noticed the prices are going up and I no longer feel I get good value for my money. Especially after fighting the crowd of bus passengers that unload there and swamp the place.
We will probably continue to stop as we pass on trips. But we decided that on our next trip we would go further into West and try some of the other places NOT right on the highway.
This is a good town to stop and purchase bakery goods and good food. But the place on the highway is pricing themselves out of our business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Makes my mouth water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A MUST stopped when I-35! I might even go out of my way to stop there. Simply delicious! The kolaches are incredible and everything is fresh and well stocked. Try some of the delicious homemade breads or sausages also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“THE place to stop on I35 between San Antonio & DFW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fantastic bakery goods at this bakery, c-store, gas station.

Kolachces are the specialty but all baked goods are special.

This drive is incredibly boring & ugly - particularly when you have made the trek more than 100 times but this place is always a must stop.

I always feel rejuvenated after The Czech Stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Czech Stop also viewed

 

Been to The Czech Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Czech Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.