We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome! Food Is great and...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey Cafe

Monterrey Cafe
118 N Texas Blvd, Weslaco, TX 78596-5302
+1 956-968-7811
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 90 Restaurants in Weslaco
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place is awesome! Food Is great and...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010 via mobile

This place is awesome! Food Is great and the service is very close to the best! They talk to you as if they've known you for years! They don't mess around when it comes to food portions, all plates are super well served and nobody beats their chicken with from scratch homemade onion rings! Their caldos are the best, really! they used to charge 50 cents for the use of credit cards but that was years ago and it was when businesses were going through a rough time! Besides don't you people know how many places charge! And hidden! This restaurant posted signs all over the place so you had a choice before you even walked in! I've been going there since before I was born that was 28 years, and I wont stop going anytime soon! my parents go at least twice a week and its a tradition to go every Sunday after mass! Over all very well worth it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos L, Manager at Monterrey Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi there ! Thank you for taking the time to review Monterey Cafe. Because of loyal customers like yourself, we are still in business. Thank you for always being there for us through the tough times and good. We are glad you and your family enjoy our place. Please, don't hesitate to let us know of any concerns. We strive to make our business better every day. Thanks again for being such loyal customers. -Manager, Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“avoid this establishments”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Terrible food and service, parkings space terrible and tight, cc cards charge u extra of what ur paying a hidden charge. instead go to a national chain restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos L, Manager at Monterrey Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi, I am so sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant. We no longer charge a fee as soon as we found out we were not allowed to do so. We are a small family business, and at the time of your visit we were charing a small fee in order to keep prices low. We have stopped charging the fee. We do agree with that our parking is limited and we do not like it anymore than you do. We have tried to improve this problem by buying the property behind the restaurant and making it into parking. We appreciate your review and concerns. We will strive to be better. -Manager, Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food good....but take cash!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

retailer totally violates Merchant agreement with VISA BY PASSING ITS fee along to you the comsumer.....all cc transactions are hit with a small fee.

sure its small....but I dropped $50 here tonite....cant they AFFORD to pay visa $1?> geez

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos L, Manager at Monterrey Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our business. I apologize you were charged a fee in 2009. We no longer do that. We are a small family business and we were going through a tough time. To be fair, this was not a hidden charge, we let our customers know of our 50 cent charge. We did find out we are not allowed to do this, and we immediately stopped. Thanks again for taking the time to review, and I apologize for the inconvinience we may have caused you. -Carlos, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.