We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saltgrass Steak House
20241 Gulf Fwy, Webster, TX 77598-4809
281-338-9778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 139 Restaurants in Webster
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Merritt Island, Fl
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While in town decided to go out for a steak and was very pleased with Saltgrass. Bread was fresh, filet was delicious and cooked just right. Nice meal and a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good consistent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

always consistent food from saltgrass. our steaks were cooked perfectly but someone got overeager with the season salt. really enjoy the crab stack appetizer, salad and sides. my husband says they have the best ranch ever.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It is a Saltgrass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a very typical Saltgrass. If you like the chain you'll feel right at home. We like the food at Saltgrass but the service is never up to snuff. It always has a hectic, everyone is out of breath feel to it. And it doesn't matter if they're packed or its a slow time. That said it isn't a bad choice in an area saturated with chain restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have eaten at this establishment almost (1) a month for the past 4 years. Great Lunch Menu until 4 (even on Saturday/Sunday) and large menu at dinner. The Shiner Bock Bread and Butter is to die for.
Before you get to full just thinking about it, here are some home runs to order. Salad (Caesar Salad), Soup (Baked Potato Soup), Ribeye with BBQ Shrimp (wrapped in bacon and stuffed with cream cheese and jalapeno) and dessert would be the 16oz (1 Pound) fresh made Cheesecake.
Enjoy the food and the rustic Texas Decor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food served by unbelievably rude waitstaff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As we sat down at our table, a waiter and a waitress had a near miss and my date thought something was about to fly In his direction. The waiter came over a minute later and apologized and then remarked to my date that it “wouldn’t be a bad thing if she (the waitress) had fallen in your lap, but then you (turning to me) would have to close your eyes, ma’am.” I was embarrassed and my date said that was just plain offensive. Totally inappropriate thing to say. Later when our food was brought out, my date stated that he did not want butter on his steak, and the waiter (different than the first) said very sarcastically “OutSTANDing” and took it away. At this point I’m just annoyed that such great food has to be served by such a-holes. Won’t go back just for that reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.