We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandor Gardens

Chandor Gardens
West Lee Street, Weatherford, TX 76088
817-598-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Weatherford
Attraction details
Tucumcari
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very beautiful for a wedding and dinner. We had a great time walking through the gardens. The gardens are very well kept with a Chinese decor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chandor Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice historical home and grounds. The gardens are very pretty with water features and Asian inspired sculptures.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After years of overgrown plants and disrepair, this gem has been reclaimed and returned to its former beauty. Tucked away on the edge of a historic residential neighborhood, Chandor Gardens stands as a loving tribute to the its creator, artist Douglas Chandor. Visitors are taken back to a bygone day of tranquil beauty and simple walks in the park. Even for me, a lifelong resident of Weatherford, I feel transported when I visit here.
The gardens are arranged so that visitors can meander along paths, sit in tucked-away alcoves or watch the Orient-inspired fountains. While entrance to the gardens has been updated for wheelchairs and those having trouble walking, it's still a bit difficult to maneuver and pathways are uneven.
If given the opportunity, be sure to tour the house. The architecture and artwork are definitely worth a look.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One mans dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The garden sits on a hill side in Weatherford Texas. Build by one man over a number of years . It is a beautiful restful place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“"Beautiful"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I took the children here to do pictures and it is beautiful. I have been to weddings here as well and it is breath taking. Some of the fountains werent working but the flowers were gorgeous and everything is well manicured.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandor Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Chandor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandor Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.