We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, but smokey.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rockett Cafe

Rockett Cafe
5790 Fm 813, Waxahachie, TX 75165
(972) 617-8634
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 92 restaurants in Waxahachie
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Ennis, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent food, but smokey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Decent food, and their chicken fried steak is very good. But it's ALWAYS smokey in the restaurant. I'd go there more often but the smoke bothers me.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    6
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Drove out to the Rocket Cafe on Mother's Day. The decor is definately Cafe style. There was a wait but plenty of places to sit while we waited and the bar was open. It was odd, but because of the liquor laws we had to fill out paper with our name, address, etc. The wait was not very long and we were seated at a table directly under the air conditioning vent and we nearly froze. We complained and they turned the air up so we wouldn't freeze.

We ordered the Chicken Fried Steak. It was huge, the gravy was great. It came with a salad, the basic cafe type salad but the dressing was very good. The price was great and we went away stuffed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The portions are enormous and very filling. The food was great in taste. Very light on the healthy options. I would like to see a few more salad options. Over all it is a great place to visit with family.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OLD FASHION FINGER LICKING GOOD!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you are a fan of southern comfort food that is made from scratch, you have found your place! Southern Fried Steak was just like my grandma use to make. Good portions, nice batter and meat that was tender complete with tasty side dishes from green beans, mashed potatoes with the skins, steak fries and a nice side salad. Excellent food but this is an old fashion small town restaurant which lacks much of a decor. If you go for the food and aren't looking for upscale then all will be good!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Remove pork chops from your menu!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

On Friday, August 19th, I ordered your pork chops and was most disappointed with the fact that they are breakfast chops thinnly sliced so as to have no flavor, dry and cold by the time your plate reaches you. If you can't serve a thick dinner chop, you should removed them from your menu. All your fried foods are great but your chops are the worst I've ever eaten in a restaurant. I've been coming to this restaurant for decades and this is the first time I've been so dissatisfied but it is also the first time I've ever ordered your pork chops.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockett Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rockett Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockett Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.