We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doves Nest Restaurant

The Doves Nest Restaurant
105 W Jefferson Street, Waxahachie, TX 75165
972.938-3683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Waxahachie
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Walla Walla
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great, friendly service, in the heart of town, irresistable cute shopping in front of store, very busy, clearly a town favorite, lots of antiques nearby. Everything was homemade and creative.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Girly, but Good Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Disclaimer, I'm a guy. This is a girly restaurant - from the menu to the decor. I went with my wife and girls. They had sandwiches and loved them. I had the burger and fruit. The burger was very tasty. Fruit was fresh and a big portion. Was a bit diss appointed that they did not have ketchup or BBQ sauce. Prices a big high for lunch - $9 for lunch burger. Overall, a good experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont,ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Dove's Nest was not what I expected after seeing the ratings. I was disappointed with the lack of service and the amount of noise in the one large room. When my $9.00 Kobe beef burger arrived, it was not medium as I ordered but well done, so I sent it back. The next one was so rare it was inedible. I decided not to try again and sat there while my wife ate her meal. Her soup was not hot and the food average. I was shocked to see the bill that charged me for the burgers that were sent back. I spoke with the manager and he said that it was "real tricky to cook a 1/4 inch thick burger medium." I said "either give more beef or state all burgers have to be cooked well done." He tried to argue with me when I said that he should comp my wife's $10 meal. He said that he already comped me the 2 burgers. How ridiculous, to imagine a restaurant ever charging for food returned. The $10 to give customer satisfaction is a small price to pay. His attitude ruined the experience and prompted this review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, very average service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Dove's Nest has really good food, but their service is average at best. Oftentimes they are quite slow, and their waitstaff is not always very attentive. Parking can be a problem too during lunchtime.

I think the prices are a bit high for what you get, but the atmosphere is nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great birthday luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My God-mom took me here for a birthday luncheon. I liked the shop and all of it's cool finds, but the Doves nest food was fantastic!
I am a picky eater. The chicken salad sandwich my God-mom got was delicious and my grilled chicken sandwich was great, but the buttermilk pie was outstanding.
I suggest not getting soda here, because it can dilute the creative flavors and combinations. The bread on my sandwich was so full of color and taste.
I was full. I highly recommend this place. Get there before 2pm!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Doves Nest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Doves Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doves Nest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.